Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 59

Thread: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

      
  1. #41

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,979
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    I agree with that -- but I do recall that it was a source of great disagreement.

  2. #42

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,764
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    726

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    can you be guilty of obstruction if you are behind the ball carrier....
    exactly CR - hence my bit about split second timings and just being in front of the lead attacker etc.

    didds

  3. #43

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    119

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Got caught out last week by the a team who didn't commit to the maul,
    Blue catch ball and set up a wedge, transfer the ball to the back legally.
    Red part and when ball is transferrred back red player comes round and tackles the ball carrier.
    I ping him for offside saying we haven't moved from the line of touch, much to his displeasure.
    When ball is kicked to touch I collar red player and tell him sorry mate I got that wrong.
    Fortunately not a game changing moment as blue won easily.
    I wish teams would tell referees if they are going to attempt this tactic so we can be alert to it.
    Ciaran Trainor

  4. #44

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,073
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    389

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    Got caught out last week by the a team who didn't commit to the maul,
    Blue catch ball and set up a wedge, transfer the ball to the back legally.
    Red part and when ball is transferrred back red player comes round and tackles the ball carrier.
    I ping him for offside saying we haven't moved from the line of touch, much to his displeasure.
    When ball is kicked to touch I collar red player and tell him sorry mate I got that wrong.
    Fortunately not a game changing moment as blue won easily.
    I wish teams would tell referees if they are going to attempt this tactic so we can be alert to it.
    Did you realise you got it wrong before the kick to touch?
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  5. #45

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    119

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    no but if I had, would have been an interesting call.
    I stopped play, made a bad decision, scrum blue as they were in possession
    Ciaran Trainor

  6. #46
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    328

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Did you realise you got it wrong before the kick to touch?
    Would you change your decision if you did?

  7. #47

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,764
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    726

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    Got caught out last week by the a team who didn't commit to the maul,
    Blue catch ball and set up a wedge, transfer the ball to the back legally.
    If red didn't commit to the maul, how can blue have transfered the ball to the back legally?

    didds

  8. #48
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    328

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    no but if I had, would have been an interesting call.
    I stopped play, made a bad decision, scrum blue as they were in possession
    Would it have affected your decision if a player pointed out your mistake?

    I can see an argument for altering your decision if you realised it was wrong, but I'm very reluctant to do so if a player points it out. Maybe I'm just overly belligerent

  9. #49

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,764
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    726

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    Would it have affected your decision if a player pointed out your mistake?

    I can see an argument for altering your decision if you realised it was wrong, but I'm very reluctant to do so if a player points it out. Maybe I'm just overly belligerent
    Even if you knew he was right?

    didds

  10. #50
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    328

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Even if you knew he was right?

    didds
    That's the conundrum. You don't want to look like you're being influenced by the players, but you also want to make the right decisions.
    "[PEEP] penalty red!" "but sir, blah blah blah..." "You're right! [PEEP] penalty blue!" would look pretty bad and you'd be handing away all control of the game.

    The best you can do, I think, is take your time signalling - think quickly act slowly and all that (though I often struggle with the former) - without appearing to listen.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •