Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: line out and forming maul

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,540
    Thanks (Received)
    126
    Likes (Received)
    1599

    Default line out and forming maul

    So I had this in my game today -

    blue attacking lineout on red 5m line

    blue are going to set up a maul and try and drive over,

    blue jumper goes up, catches, come down, and in his enthusiasm flips to ball to his oncoming team mate who catches it and joins the maul

    but there was clear daylight between the catcher and the receiving player - who received the ball a good 1/2 metre behind the maul, which he then joined.

    So peep - but would you give accidental offside, or a PK for obstruction?

  2. #2

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NSRS
    Grade
    Newish
    Join Date
    20 Jan 11
    Posts
    1,300
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    75

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    It really depends on the level. I'll always go with the penalty for a team-mate in front of an attempting catcher, even at grass-roots, but in that case they are potentially denying chasers the chance to pick the ball up.

    Here, the ball has been won, the team mate (#9?) was already intending to join the maul, and it seems to be incompetent rather than deliberate, from your description. Nor did the defenders have a chance to gain control of the ball, at any point.

    At any serious level, peep PK. But in 90% of matches, use empathy, in this case with blue - but defenders do get the scrum - if it is early on in the ATP sequence.

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,176
    Thanks (Received)
    50
    Likes (Received)
    437

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    Would you penalise for same action anywhere else on the field i.e. ball passed to a player who then joins on to team mates in front of him?
    I would say yes.

    I know you are going to say that the non-engagement situation after a LO is technically obstruction as well but we have been given clear guidelines on how to manage this "special" situation.

    Your scenario.
    Peep. "Obstruction blue. Timing issue guys".
    Last edited by The Fat; 15-10-16 at 18:10.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  4. #4

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,361
    Thanks (Received)
    100
    Likes (Received)
    1463

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Your scenario.
    Peep. "Obstruction blue. Timing issue guys".
    Agreed.

    If you want to get technical, the lineout was over once the ball was passed to a player not in the lineout.

    I never saw the logic in the"accidental offside" ruling anyway, so I am not disposed towards trying to extend its reach.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Received)
    864

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    15 kicks to clear, hits 10 in the back who has turned and scrunched up trying to get out of the,way.

    Sounds pretty accidental to me.

    Istr a similar youtube clip doing the rounds where the player in front gets the ball right up his backside?

    Didds

  6. #6
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    625
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    109

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    [QUOTE=didds;321455


    Istr a similar youtube clip doing the rounds where the player in front gets the ball right up his backside?

    Didds[/QUOTE]

    Don' think it actually went up .....think it bounced!!!!!!

  7. #7

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,361
    Thanks (Received)
    100
    Likes (Received)
    1463

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    15 kicks to clear, hits 10 in the back who has turned and scrunched up trying to get out of the,way.

    Sounds pretty accidental to me.
    True, but what has that go to do with the current query?
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  8. #8

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,377
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    Running into a player in front of you has for all my memory been accidental offside and scrum to opposition. It is only obstruction if the player in front affects play by preventing an opposition player tacking the ball carrier, so it would depend on how contested the set up of the planned maul was whether I would PK or scrum.

  9. #9

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,361
    Thanks (Received)
    100
    Likes (Received)
    1463

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    [...] his oncoming team mate who catches it and joins the maul

    but there was clear daylight between the catcher and the receiving player - who received the ball a good 1/2 metre behind the maul, which he then joined.[...]
    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    Running into a player in front of you has for all my memory been accidental offside and scrum to opposition. It is only obstruction if the player in front affects play by preventing an opposition player tacking the ball carrier, so it would depend on how contested the set up of the planned maul was whether I would PK or scrum.
    I don't see how deciding to join a "maul" can be seen as "accidental". Binding on to it (as necessarily implied by "joining") is deliberate.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Received)
    864

    Default Re: line out and forming maul

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    True, but what has that go to do with the current query?

    err... "I never saw the logic in the"accidental offside" ruling anyway, so I am not disposed towards trying to extend its reach."

    ??~

    Unlike "brexit means brexit" does "accidental offisde" then not mean "accidental offside" ?

    As this is OB, I must be missing something!"

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •