Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Here's an interesting one......

      
  1. #1
    pricci
    Guest

    Default Here's an interesting one......

    Real scenario. Happened to me two weeks ago in a Level 12 League Game.

    Black hands in ruck. Penalty on the 22. Blue elect to kick at goal.

    Ball hits the right hand upright and bounces straight into touch (Not touch in-goal) just inside the 5m.

    Your decision.

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    Robert Burns's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Western Australian
    Grade
    Established
    Join Date
    10 Nov 03
    Posts
    9,586
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    36
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I would have to say Lineout on the 5m to Black. My interpretation would be that only a direct kick into touch gets the linout on the side of the blues, and I think you can safely say he didn't play for it, if he did, then he's playing at the wrong level!

    "This is not Soccer!" ©Nigel Owens
    ------------------------------
    Robert Burns
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    ------------------------------

  3. #3
    pricci
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Burns
    I would have to say Lineout on the 5m to Black. My interpretation would be that only a direct kick into touch gets the linout on the side of the blues, and I think you can safely say he didn't play for it, if he did, then he's playing at the wrong level!

    Exactly what I gave Robert. However, a senior ref in my society said it should have been counted as a kick directly into touch and blue should have had the put in at the lineout. Unless, as you say, it was done on purpose in which case he would have called a scrum with black put in.

  4. #4

    Referees in Australia
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    Robert Burns's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Western Australian
    Grade
    Established
    Join Date
    10 Nov 03
    Posts
    9,586
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    36
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Any of our senior members want to comment?
    "This is not Soccer!" ©Nigel Owens
    ------------------------------
    Robert Burns
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    ------------------------------

  5. #5
    Plod
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pricci
    Exactly what I gave Robert. However, a senior ref in my society said it should have been counted as a kick directly into touch and blue should have had the put in at the lineout. Unless, as you say, it was done on purpose in which case he would have called a scrum with black put in.
    What a cracker. No problems on this, it is a line out and it is to the kicking side blue. Reasons = In scenario mentioned it is clearly obvious it was an intentional goal kick and not an attempt to place kick for touch which is not permissible in law and would have if deemed wilful resulted in a scrum back to black from the place of kick. I have seen the same happen when a player kicking in a strong cross wind saw his kick blown into touch. At the time I allowed touch. The decision was referred to the RFU Laws committee and was deemed correct by a Clive Leeke former RDO for the Midlands.
    Last edited by Plod; 20-12-03 at 09:12.

  6. #6
    pricci
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Plod
    What a cracker. No problems on this, it is a line out and it is to the kicking side blue. Reasons = In scenario mentioned it is clearly obvious it was an intentional goal kick and not an attempt to place kick for touch which is not permissible in law and would have if deemed wilful resulted in a scrum back to black from the place of kick. I have seen the same happen when a player kicking in a strong cross wind saw his kick blown into touch. At the time I allowed touch. The decision was referred to the RFU Laws committee and was deemed correct by a Clive Leeke former RDO for the Midlands.
    Hello again Plod. Just been replying to you on the Scrum Forum.

    In this case, I bow to your better judgement and experience.

    Having had a few more days to consider it, it all makes perfect sense.

    Another notch of experience gained.

    Thank you.

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    Robert Burns's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Western Australian
    Grade
    Established
    Join Date
    10 Nov 03
    Posts
    9,586
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    36
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Lol, We all disagree at times, thats what makes it good to be able to share our experiences!
    "This is not Soccer!" ©Nigel Owens
    ------------------------------
    Robert Burns
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    ------------------------------

  8. #8

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    5,001
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pricci
    Real scenario. Happened to me two weeks ago in a Level 12 League Game.

    Black hands in ruck. Penalty on the 22. Blue elect to kick at goal.

    Ball hits the right hand upright and bounces straight into touch (Not touch in-goal) just inside the 5m.

    Your decision.
    No brainer surely? PKs can be kicked directly into touch, so no problem there. L/os within 5m of a goal line are taken on the 5m line. There was no intent to "deceive" the officials/oppo by nominating goal and then kicking for touch deliberately (the kick at goal was clear), so no problem there.

    Decision = lineout to blue, on 5m line, on touchline that the ball crossed.

    didds

  9. #9

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    5,001
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pricci
    Exactly what I gave Robert. .
    where in the laws would it support the black lineout?

    Its a kick to touch from a PK, deliberate or not is surely irrelevant? Otherwise... what about garryowens that drift/roll into touch? What about cross-field kciks ("kick-pass") that the winger misses and enters touch?

    It has to be blue's lineout.

    didds

  10. #10

    Referees in Australia
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    Robert Burns's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Western Australian
    Grade
    Established
    Join Date
    10 Nov 03
    Posts
    9,586
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    36
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Not entirely, of course we can see it now, but I would have still originally stated that the penalty was a failed attempt at goal and so the lineout should go to the oposition.

    And if Plod had a team refer it to the RFU when similar had it happen to him, it can't be that much of a no brainer.

    However, I am glad pricci brought this up as it happened to me last week, and because of this thread, I knew what to give
    "This is not Soccer!" ©Nigel Owens
    ------------------------------
    Robert Burns
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    ------------------------------

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Here's another interesting one.............
    By pricci in forum What's the decision?
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 14-11-13, 10:11
  2. Interesting, Brian . .
    By chopper15 in forum Northern Hemisphere Pro Rugby Union Discussion.
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 05-10-10, 20:10
  3. Interesting decision
    By OB.. in forum Line-out Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-12-09, 09:12
  4. Interesting new website
    By Phil E in forum General Union talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-01-09, 15:01
  5. Interesting one
    By Andyr8603 in forum What's the decision?
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-03-08, 09:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •