Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 130

Thread: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

      
  1. #41

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,763
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    725

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    He's in front of a team mate carrying the ball.

    good point... fair does.

    So there's no reason to even start to think/worry about playing the man without the ball etc. Its just plain offside.

    All agree?.

    didds

  2. #42

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    68
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    7
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    There was not time to form a maul, action was very rapid.
    Red #2 did not bind to blue player, nor to his tem-mate, he just pushed blue away.
    I think that doing this, bounded or not to blue player, is not legal.
    In my opinion:
    1) If you can, you should bind to your team-mate
    2) If you can't bind to your team-mate but you have to bind to an opponent, that means the opponent is on your side of the field
    3) Therefore, you can't go look for bindinding to an opponent who is on his side of the field
    4) Assuming all the points before, you can't absoloutely try to remove an apponent that is trying to tackle a team-mate of yours

  3. #43

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,763
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    725

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    3) and 4) though are in fact redundant.

    As DocY points out he is in fact offside, so just ping him for that.

    didds

  4. #44

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    68
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    7
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    3) and 4) though are in fact redundant.

    As DocY points out he is in fact offside, so just ping him for that.

    didds
    Ok for that.
    Since we're on, what if he wasn't offside?

    Let's assume Red#1 and Blue are parallel to the try line.
    Can Red#2 push blue away?
    Attached Images

  5. #45

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,763
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    725

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    DocY presviously said

    "IMO, in any situation where he can bind onto blue from an on-side position."

    He can do so here of course


    didds

  6. #46

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    68
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    7
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    IMO, in any situation where he can bind onto blue from an on-side position. If blue then falls off (assuming red 2 wasn't attempting to collapse the maul, or drag a player out) then he should have held on tighter!

    So if I am correct, if red player joins from an on-side position and pushes/pulls/drags directly his opponent, it's all good.
    Once again: there is no Maul formed and there is no intention to form one.

  7. #47
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,542
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    328

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    To clarify my thoughts on this:


    Did he make contact from an on-side position?
    / \
    No - PK Yes
    \
    Did he bind and form a maul?
    / \
    No - PK Yes
    \
    Did he commit a maul offence?
    / \
    Yes - PK No - Play on

    (I tried very hard to get this displaying as a nice flow chart, but it isn't working.)
    Last edited by DocY; 12-12-16 at 14:12. Reason: Formatting

  8. #48

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    68
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    7
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    To clarify my thoughts on this:

    Did he make contact from an on-side position?
    / \
    No - PK Yes
    \
    Did he bind and form a maul?
    / \
    No
    - PK Yes
    \
    Did he commit a maul offence?
    / \
    Yes - PK No - Play on
    He did not bind and did not form a maul, just went straight to his opponent to set his team-mate free, everything lasted 1 second.

  9. #49

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    21,923
    Thanks (Received)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    1229

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    I notice that if the third man in to a choke tackle causes the other two to fall over, panel referees shout "Tackle only". This implies that a maul is not formed instantaneously, but has to have some sort of indepedent existence first before it can be (illegally) collapsed.

    Makes sense to me.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  10. #50

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,137
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    100

    Default Re: Dragging away a player trying to tackle

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    I notice that if the third man in to a choke tackle causes the other two to fall over, panel referees shout "Tackle only". This implies that a maul is not formed instantaneously, but has to have some sort of indepedent existence first before it can be (illegally) collapsed.

    Makes sense to me.
    For me the third man in cannot try and form a maul, but needs to try and tackle by grasping below the waist to be a tackle. If he goes in a chest height, I would consider that forming a maul, and be looking for who collapsed it. But I am not National Panel. There may be something about calling tackle only to encourage players to recycle the ball rather than holding on for a turnover scrum.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •