Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

      
  1. #11
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    OK. I have to admit, that in a game, I would have gone for a 5m scrum.
    However, I'm deliberately contriving a situation to satisfy the oddity that I spotted in law 22.3(b). ( Sorry ! )
    Which I will now quote :
    When an attacking player who has possession of the ball, grounds the ball in in-goal and simultaneously contacts the touch-in goal line or dead-ball-line ( or anywhere beyond ), a 22m drop-out is awarded to the defending team.

    I was surprised too that there was no mention of "who took it into in-goal".

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,774
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    403

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    I set a trap. All wrong so far.
    Or maybe I'm wrong.
    Let me highlight the key point.
    The attacking player had gained possession of the ball.
    He grounded the ball in-goal and simultaneously contacted the touch-in-goal line.
    Does that give a clue ?
    Are you suggesting it should be a try?

    If he'd gained possession before touching down/touching TiG then no, it's still a scrum 5. Possession is irrelevant.

    If he'd not been in possession and touched the ball down while in TiG then (assuming no other infringement) it would be a try.

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,774
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    403

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    OK. I have to admit, that in a game, I would have gone for a 5m scrum.
    However, I'm deliberately contriving a situation to satisfy the oddity that I spotted in law 22.3(b). ( Sorry ! )
    Which I will now quote :
    When an attacking player who has possession of the ball, grounds the ball in in-goal and simultaneously contacts the touch-in goal line or dead-ball-line ( or anywhere beyond ), a 22m drop-out is awarded to the defending team.

    I was surprised too that there was no mention of "who took it into in-goal".
    I see what' you're saying, but I think this is a(nother) case of the law book being wrong - as per the backs having to be 5m from the back foot of a 5m scrum. It's a situation not properly thought through when they were being written.

  4. #14

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    525
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Attacking 5m scrum.

    I've had something similar happen. Red passed the ball back from a 5m scrum to a No 10 standing deep in-goal. By the time he got round to kicking the ball, the opposition Flanker was nearly on him and managed to charge the kick down (still in-goal) and the ball ricocheted off him over the DBL.

    I gave an attacking 5m scrum - taken in by Blue and made dead - by who is irrelevant. Defending coach gets the right hump, as he thought it should have been a 22m DO.
    hi taff .
    for me your scenario is different from crouch engage post .
    and for me your scenario is covered in law also
    of which you did restart game correctly .

    however .
    if an attacking player makes ball dead in goal { except by charge down }
    it makes no difference who took it in goal .
    an attacking player has made ball dead in goal .. = 22 drop out .

  5. #15

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,782
    Thanks (Received)
    68
    Likes (Received)
    955

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Christy View Post
    however .
    if an attacking player makes ball dead in goal { except by charge down }
    it makes no difference who took it in goal .
    an attacking player has made ball dead in goal .. = 22 drop out .
    nope. totally disagree.

    Its all about who took it in, not who made it dead.

    WADR to you all, if you guys can't get this simplest of things right, how can you ever complain about players and coaches who get far more esoteric parts of law confused?


    didds

  6. #16
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    Christy,

    My (new) interpretation of law 22.3(b) makes me think the correct answer to my OP is 22 m D.O.
    However I dont follow your reasoning at all. Normally it DOES matter who took the ball into the in-goal.
    That's why I thought I;d post this little oddity as it confounds intuition.

  7. #17
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,774
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    403

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Christy View Post
    hi taff .
    for me your scenario is different from crouch engage post .
    and for me your scenario is covered in law also
    of which you did restart game correctly .

    however .
    if an attacking player makes ball dead in goal { except by charge down }
    it makes no difference who took it in goal .
    an attacking player has made ball dead in goal .. = 22 drop out .
    See 22.11:

    (a)
    When the ball touches the touch-in-goal line or the dead ball line, or touches anything or anyone beyond those lines, the ball becomes dead. If the ball was played into in-goal by the attacking team, a drop-out shall be awarded to the defending team. If the ball was played into in-goal by the defending team, a 5-metre scrum shall be awarded and the attacking team throws in the ball.12
    (b)
    When a player carrying the ball touches the touch-in-goal line, the dead ball line, or touches the ground beyond those lines, the ball becomes dead. If the ball was carried into in-goal by the attacking team, a drop-out shall be awarded to the defending team. If the ball was carried into in-goal by the defending team, a 5-metre scrum shall be awarded and the attacking team throws in the ball.12
    (c)
    When a player scores a try or makes a touch down, the ball becomes dead.
    Last edited by DocY; 06-03-17 at 17:03.

  8. #18

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,782
    Thanks (Received)
    68
    Likes (Received)
    955

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    I'm with Docy.

    didds

  9. #19
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    Actually. 22.11(b) seems to contradict almost exactly 22.3(b).
    i.e. it would indicate that it DOES indeed depend upon who "played" or "carried" the ball into in-goal.
    Oh dear. I'm confusing everyone including myself now.

    So either a 5m scrum or a 22 do is supported by the laws.
    Does the law book ever get proof-read before publication ?

  10. #20

    Referees in England
    Lee Lifeson-Peart's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    (South) Yorkshire Referee's Society
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    12 Mar 08
    Posts
    7,314
    Thanks (Received)
    49
    Likes (Received)
    703

    Default Re: 22 or 5m attacking scrum ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Christy View Post

    however .
    if an attacking player makes ball dead in goal { except by charge down }
    it makes no difference who took it in goal .
    an attacking player has made ball dead in goal .. = 22 drop out .
    Are you sure? How or why would an attacking player make the ball dead in goal?

    Assuming blue defender(s) took it in-goal here's a few hows:-

    Red charge down = 5m scrum red.

    Red knock on and it goes dead = 5m scrum blue (I think)

    Red kick it or it hits red and goes dead or TiG = 5m scrum red.

    Other than those it seems easier to just score a try!

    It does matter who put it in goal - just when I thought I knew what I was on about.

    Am I missing something?
    Last edited by Lee Lifeson-Peart; 06-03-17 at 17:03.
    It's like a big tide of jam coming towards us, but jam made out of old women......Father Dougal McGuire 1998

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •