Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51

Thread: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Arbitro Effettivo
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    76
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    7
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    Hello everyone,

    here are the laws:

    17.4 (a)
    The offside line. There are two offside lines parallel to the goal lines, one for each team. Each offside line runs through the hindmost foot of the hindmost player in the maul. If the hindmost foot of the hindmost player is on or behind the goal line, the offside line for the defending team is the goal line.


    17.4 (c)
    Players joining the maul. Players joining a maul must do so from behind the foot of the hindmost team-mate in the maul. The player may join alongside this player. If the player joins the maul from the opponents’ side, or in front of the hindmost team-mate, the player is offside.


    Scenario:
    Maul coming inside goal area, ball is still outside it.

    A defence player joins the maul NOT from behind the foot of the hindmost team-mate in the maul, neither even alongside that player, BUT still inside his goal area (behing goal line).

    17.4 (c) does not mention offside lines, so cai i punish him for joining incorrectly the maul?
    My opinion: He's not offside but he joins incorrectly.

  2. #2

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,925
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    341

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    You cannot have a maul in-goal, so no maul offside lines.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,220
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    328

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    You cannot have a maul in-goal, so no maul offside lines.
    If the ball is not over the goal line, you can certainly have mauling players behind the goal line. As to the original post, I'd certainly ping someone for joining from the side in that case; as you say, the law doesn't mention offside lines.

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,908
    Thanks (Received)
    164
    Likes (Received)
    1310
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    I'm with Taff.
    The Maul evaporates as it crosses the goal line.
    As long as the defenders are behind the goal line they can join the clump of players that are not a maul from any direction they want.

    Having said that, the same must apply to a scrum, so would we let none scrum players add their weight to the back (or side) of a scrum that is past the goal line?

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  5. #5
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    What determines whether a maul/scrum is in goal? The ball?

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,774
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    403

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    What determines whether a maul/scrum is in goal? The ball?
    Yes, it's the ball - 17.5. The maul can exist in goal provided the ball isn't over the line yet.

    But despite what the lawbook says, I'm not 100% sure you would have to enter from the back foot in goal. It looks like it could well be an oversight.

  7. #7

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,779
    Thanks (Received)
    68
    Likes (Received)
    954

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    17.4a would suggest surely that the maul may still exist when part of it is in-goal.

    so we can only guess at what consitutes the ending of a maul in-goal, and the ball would seem a logical choice (howsoever a ref determines that position in the middle of a large gro0up of players). Alternatively it could be tghe rearmost foot of the attacker's side of the maul... but I doubt many (any?) of us would see that as realistic.

    didds

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,908
    Thanks (Received)
    164
    Likes (Received)
    1310
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    Yes, it's the ball - 17.5. The maul can exist in goal provided the ball isn't over the line yet.
    That just detrmines when the maul ends.

    17.1 says the maul can only exist in the field of play.

    So the part of the maul that is in-goal does not exist as a maul.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #9

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,779
    Thanks (Received)
    68
    Likes (Received)
    954

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    That just detrmines when the maul ends.

    17.1 says the maul can only exist in the field of play.

    So the part of the maul that is in-goal does not exist as a maul.
    so in effect then it means a defender can join it at any point no further forward then the goal line?

    didds

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,908
    Thanks (Received)
    164
    Likes (Received)
    1310
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Offside and joining the maul inside goal line, any differences?

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    so in effect then it means a defender can join it at any point no further forward then the goal line?

    didds
    That's my interpretation, but I am open to hearing other arguments.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •