Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Scotland v Italy

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,750
    Thanks (Received)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    323

    Default Scotland v Italy

    When Venditi knocked on with a foot in touch, was Nigel correct to overrule the throw to Italy in favour of what the commentators call the 1st offence - being the knock on while in touch?
    Don't feed the pedant!

  2. #2

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    155
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    12

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie View Post
    When Venditi knocked on with a foot in touch, was Nigel correct to overrule the throw to Italy in favour of what the commentators call the 1st offence - being the knock on while in touch?
    Hi dixie , i was going to post same .
    Ill go with , yes foot in touch , but blue did not take possesion of ball.
    And then came the lost forward .

    Although this is only my view.
    For me its a matter of possesion of ball . ( blue did not have a quality possession of ball )
    And thats why i am ok with decision.
    However could a scrum OR line out been offered.

  3. #3
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,267
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    81

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    If the ball strikes or is played by a player in touch the 'in touch' occurs first.

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    Panel Match Observer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    314
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    44

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    I suppose that he was applying the definition that a player in touch may knock the ball as long as it hasn't crossed the line of touch. Only in this case it was a knock on.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    New/Ungraded
    Join Date
    15 Jan 08
    Posts
    281
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    10

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    I like how NO put his flag up immediately the guy fumbled the ball anyway. Clearly changed his mind later... luckily the ball ended up dead in a couple of seconds anyway.

  6. #6

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    155
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    12

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    If the ball strikes or is played by a player in touch the 'in touch' occurs first.
    ..

    Hi chris r .
    Is your view that it should of been line out

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,750
    Thanks (Received)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    323

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    As Balones mentions, the whole thing is clouded by the ludicrous position that the player on touch may knock the ball back infield without it being in touch. So in this situation, if Venditi had dropped it backward with a foot in touch, presumably play on? Why is World Rugby so interested in making Law 19 unworkable (or perhaps just unfathomable)?

  8. #8

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    21,332
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    840

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie View Post
    As Balones mentions, the whole thing is clouded by the ludicrous position that the player on touch may knock the ball back infield without it being in touch. So in this situation, if Venditi had dropped it backward with a foot in touch, presumably play on? Why is World Rugby so interested in making Law 19 unworkable (or perhaps just unfathomable)?
    In this case the aim is to make play more continuous.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    25 Feb 16
    Posts
    25
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    5

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    How close was Italy's move from the tapped PK 5m out to a Flying Wedge?

  10. #10
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,267
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    81

    Default Re: Scotland v Italy

    Christy, Haven't seen any video so I'm working from the OP.

    From Law 19 definitions:
    A player in touch may kick or knock the ball , but not hold it , provided it has not
    crossed the plane of the touchline. The plane of the touchline is the vertical space
    rising immediately above the touchline.


    WB need to dump this feature as it's just about redundant with the new law trials and conflicts with the simple understanding that if a ball comes in contact with an object or player in touch then the ball is in touch.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •