Page 1 of 14 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 135

Thread: Ireland v England

      
  1. #1

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    3,339
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    115

    Thumbs up Ireland v England

    Congratulations to England on their tournament win.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    12,570
    Thanks (Received)
    70
    Likes (Received)
    958

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    Grrrr

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    10,981
    Thanks (Received)
    66
    Likes (Received)
    824

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    did the ref end the 1st half on a not straight lineout throw? I thought that was a no-no
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    WOSRS
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    29 Oct 14
    Posts
    380
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    141

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    did the ref end the 1st half on a not straight lineout throw? I thought that was a no-no
    I think so, but why would it be a no no? Lineout Infringement that does not lead to a penalty after time has elapsed = time?

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    winchesterref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    UK
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Dec 09
    Posts
    1,983
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    163

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    Game did not restart correctly?
    Ball thrown not straight deliberately?

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    801
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    78

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    The ball becomes dead when the referee would have awarded a scrum, lineout, an option to the non-infringing team, drop out or after a conversion or successful penalty kick at goal.

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    903
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    109

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    If the ref thinks it was a deliberate not straight surely that would be a penalty anyway.
    There is clarification that a restart has to restart the game, but I thought that only applied to law 13.

  8. #8

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    12,619
    Thanks (Received)
    88
    Likes (Received)
    1157

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    I think I understand what DickeE is thinking

    19.7 INCORRECT THROW-IN
    (a) If the throw-in at a lineout is incorrect, the opposing team has the choice of throwing in at a
    lineout or a scrum on the 15-metre line. If they choose the throw-in to the lineout and it is
    again incorrect, a scrum is formed. The team that took the first throw-in throws in the ball.


    Ending the half would deny the opposition their entitled option.
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 19-03-17 at 11:03.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  9. #9
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,608
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    170

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    Technically, play has resumed. If the throw (or catch) goes to the opponents then advantage or play on would be appropriate. Therefore I think the half has ended.

    However, a clearly deliberate offence would be a PK.
    Last edited by ChrisR; 19-03-17 at 12:03.

  10. #10

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    10,981
    Thanks (Received)
    66
    Likes (Received)
    824

    Default Re: Ireland v England

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    Technically, play has resumed. If the throw (or catch) goes to the opponents then advantage or play on would be appropriate. Therefore I think the half has ended.

    However, a clearly deliberate offence would be a PK.
    knew I'd seen it somewhere ...

    http://laws.worldrugby.org/?domain=10&union=Paddy O'Brien&clarification=1018

    Law 19.10
    Unsuccessful end to a lineout.

    A lineout cannot be ended on a crooked throw-in. The non-offending team has an option of another lineout with their team to throw in or a scrum 15 meters in through the line of touch.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •