Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 112

Thread: Not sure what to call this to be honest

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 Nov 15
    Posts
    165
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    27

    Default Not sure what to call this to be honest


  2. #2

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    843
    Thanks (Received)
    40
    Likes (Received)
    232

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    Quote Originally Posted by Cross View Post
    Penalty to white. Red stepped out of the line.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    843
    Thanks (Received)
    40
    Likes (Received)
    232

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    Quote Originally Posted by Cross View Post
    Waste of time?

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,483
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    203

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    Referee should call "use it" to white and if - after the 5 second delay - they don't then scrum to red.

    I don't believe that Red have tapped out of the line, based upon the clip shown, as we don't see the defensive lie being set by the referee.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  5. #5

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    344

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Penalty to white. Red stepped out of the line.
    Same here.

    Quote Originally Posted by beckett50 View Post
    ... I don't believe that Red have tapped out of the line, based upon the clip shown, as we don't see the defensive lie being set by the referee.
    There appears to be waaay more than a 1m gap between them, so Red must have left the LO before it was over. And right at the start, you can see Red take a step or 2 backwards.
    Last edited by Taff; 25-03-17 at 20:03.

  6. #6

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,678
    Thanks (Received)
    129
    Likes (Received)
    1637

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    What a pity nobody has bothered to define what constitutes "leaving the lineout".

    What if white choose to rumble forward (assuming the player who caught the ball still has his hands on it)?
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  7. #7

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,994
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1017

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Penalty to white. Red stepped out of the line.
    I don;t think we saw enough of that to make that call. If Red only had 2 lineout players to start with, and they haven;t moved significantly off the line have they - no further than a peeling player to join a maul in a contested situation.

    Mind you 7 v 2 whatever the situations seems possibly worthwhile.

    This scenario was bound to happen one day.

    You could see the same thing happening with the no-ruck tactic with the 9 leaving th ball on the floor and no oppo engaging the attackers to create a ruck.



    didds

  8. #8

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,994
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1017

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    Quote Originally Posted by beckett50 View Post
    Referee should call "use it" to white and if - after the 5 second delay - they don't then scrum to red.
    why so? law reference? No maul or breakdown has occurred. This is just a lineout catch and everybody has stood still. Its effectively open play with some offside line caveats basically.. Its no different from the ball being passed to a centre who stands still and the opposition never tackle/engage with (unlikely though that scenario is). Or pass to a centre and a mail like shape similar to this set up with no opposition engagement. Its not a maul. its not a ruck. its not a scrum,. its just open play where nobody is engaging.

    TBH I think the scrum call (based on what we have avaiiable to see is all the ref could do.

    didds

  9. #9

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,994
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1017

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    What a pity nobody has bothered to define what constitutes "leaving the lineout".

    What if white choose to rumble forward (assuming the player who caught the ball still has his hands on it)?
    presumably that would have forced red to have to engage (or at least attempt to tackle the ball carrier) - or let white score eventually presumably.

    didds

  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,994
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1017

    Default Re: Not sure what to call this to be honest

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Same here.


    There appears to be waaay more than a 1m gap between them, so Red must have left the LO before it was over. And right at the start, you can see Red take a step or 2 backwards.
    I thought previous discussions along these lines had profferred the fact that a l/o player has 9.9999999999999m in which to roam around before he has left the lineout?

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •