Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: offside backs

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,633
    Thanks (Received)
    87
    Likes (Received)
    1049

    Default offside backs

    A player who is in an offside position is not automatically penalised.


    In the Quins v Wasps game in 68th minute there was a lineout won by Quins who decide to rumble the maul upfield. There was never any indication that they planned to do anything else.

    Wayne Barnes pinged the Wasps backs for coming up too early.

    I wonder what material impact this offside had.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    977
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    99
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: offside backs

    Possibly one of the fixed set piece situations where, IMO, refs let it pass with regularity.

    often much doubt about whether the maul has moved off the LoT, and so difficult for a ref to officiate if he is focussing on the shenanigans in the maul.

    if you are not a fan of materiality you will however be more likely to ping it. Barnes I believe always sticks his arm up at the formation and so I reckon he is always on the look out, material or not.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    104

    Default Re: offside backs

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    A player who is in an offside position is not automatically penalised.


    In the Quins v Wasps game in 68th minute there was a lineout won by Quins who decide to rumble the maul upfield. There was never any indication that they planned to do anything else.

    Wayne Barnes pinged the Wasps backs for coming up too early.

    I wonder what material impact this offside had.
    Quins backs advanced before the line out was over - WB still had his hand in the air. Had Wasps been able to disrupt the Harlequins set-up sufficiently well then Quins would have looked to spin the ball to the 3/4s. With the Wasps 3/4s (and it was the Wasps #12 who came up first!) then the options would have been cut down so there was a 'material' impact.

    Had the Wasps 3/4s waited until the rumble had started then I am sure WB and the ARs would have let it go.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •