Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Entry in a tackle !!!

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    observer
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    09 Nov 12
    Posts
    120
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Entry in a tackle !!!

    I just need clarity please, Red 12 has the ball, Blue 12 tackles the ball carrier they both go to ground. Blue 13 and Red 13 are coming in from red's side of the tackle, red 12 on the ground pops the ball up for red 13 but blue 13 receives the ball within the one meter radius of the tackle.I now believe that Blue should be penalised for wrong entry into the tackle. ?? Not entering the tackle
    through his gate!!!

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,641
    Thanks (Received)
    87
    Likes (Received)
    1052

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by rugbyslave View Post
    I just need clarity please, Red 12 has the ball, Blue 12 tackles the ball carrier they both go to ground. Blue 13 and Red 13 are coming in from red's side of the tackle, red 12 on the ground pops the ball up for red 13 but blue 13 receives the ball within the one meter radius of the tackle.I now believe that Blue should be penalised for wrong entry into the tackle. ?? Not entering the tackle
    through his gate!!!
    Yes indeed
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    observer
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    09 Nov 12
    Posts
    120
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Thank you, it is just that in the Law book there is not mention of a one meter radius of the tackle area. I never looked at 2017 but will read through.

  4. #4

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,659
    Thanks (Received)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    272

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by rugbyslave View Post
    Thank you, it is just that in the Law book there is not mention of a one meter radius of the tackle area. I never looked at 2017 but will read through.
    But the lawbook does mention "near" and near is defined as 1m.

  5. #5

    Referees in Canada


    Soc/Assoc
    .
    Join Date
    27 May 11
    Posts
    371
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Depending on the timing and placement of the pop pass from the tackle, it might be argued that the pop pass ended the tackle and we are now in open play so no gate, etc

  6. #6
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    07 Mar 17
    Posts
    429
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    85

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    But the lawbook does mention "near" and near is defined as 1m.
    Indeed,
    15.6.[d]

    At a tackle or near to a tackle, other players who play the ball must do so from behind the ball and from directly behind the tackled player or the tackler closest to those players’ goal line.


    But what about those that don't play the ball but instead immediately tackle/grab the player whose had the ball popped up to him, are they Ok to do so? it often occupies a lot of post match discussion - thoughts anyone?

    Extend the scope to include such , or permit ?


  7. #7

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,047
    Thanks (Received)
    91
    Likes (Received)
    1286

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by VM75 View Post
    Indeed,
    15.6.[d]

    At a tackle or near to a tackle, other players who play the ball must do so from behind the ball and from directly behind the tackled player or the tackler closest to those players’ goal line.


    But what about those that don't play the ball but instead immediately tackle/grab the player whose had the ball popped up to him, are they Ok to do so? it often occupies a lot of post match discussion - thoughts anyone?

    Extend the scope to include such , or permit ?

    We have had the argument before that the law only applies if you intend to play the ball.

    I don't think that is a sensible interpretation, and I don't see it as the one being applied. IMHO it should read "other players who enter the tackle area before the tackle has ended", for example. It would be nice to see it amended to get rid of this legalistic tripwire.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    977
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    99
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Surely good coaching is to take the ball into the tackle and look to securely set it back. No reason to ping a player who has had it unexpectedly offloaded to him. His good fortune in my book.
    Last edited by ChuckieB; 09-05-17 at 22:05.

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,641
    Thanks (Received)
    87
    Likes (Received)
    1052

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    Surely good coaching is to take the ball into the tackle and look to securely set it back. No reason to ping a player who has had it unexpectedly offloaded to him. His good fortune in my book.
    I disagree. He has got himself in a position that he shouln't be. Best good fortune he can hope for is to not get a YC.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: Entry in a tackle !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    I disagree. He has got himself in a position that he shouln't be. Best good fortune he can hope for is to not get a YC.
    Agreed, it is hardly "good coaching" to coach people to get into illegal positions.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •