Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Pulling a player forward

      
  1. #1
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    171

    Default Pulling a player forward

    Red ball carrier tackled by Blue. Ball is placed back and Red support player arrives and crouches over the ball.

    Blue player arrives, grasps the Red player over the ball and pulls him forward so that the ball is now in the clear behind the Red player.

    1. When the Blue player grasps the Red player with just his hands does this constitute binding and has a ruck formed?

    2. Is it fair play to pull an opponent forward out of a ruck?

    3. If the Red player, pulled forward, goes to ground is that collapsing the ruck?

    4. Has the ruck ended when the ball is clear of the hind foot even though the ball didn't move?

  2. #2

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    923
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    53

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    1. grasping with a hand is not binding, but I would need to see it to determine if I thought the problem was failing to bind rather than not forming a ruck. I would tend towards assuming the ruck had been formed, and let it breathe to see if there is a need to blow up.

    2. maul law specifically rules out dragging out of the maul, but not so ruck. However there is no general permission to pull an opponent, so I would accept a pushing clearout, but probably not a blatant pull. Also a pull forward may be seen as a high tackle as the contact tends to start over the head, but not in every situation

    3 sorry, but again that depends. Players have to try and stay on their feet, so it depends why you think red went off his feet. If you think he did it deliberately then PK to Blue, but if you think Blue pulled him off his feet, then PK to Red.

    4 Yes.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    805
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    78

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    Game I was recently watching recently, although situation not entirely similar:

    Red support player went to ground after a "helping" hand" from blue pulling him which the referee allowed. Ruck formation laws do not require a bind just contact. Binding laws come in for players joining thereafter.

    Blue at least then chooses to come through the resulting "hole" and from within the gate to attack the ball which I recall was just sitting there like a cherry!

    That for me was fine.

    Might have not been fine is if he or another player, as you often see, had approached from outside the gate, perhaps incorrectly assuming the ball was out. Might depend whether the payer in the tackle was still in contact with the ball and how close it was to him, shortened or extended arm and then how quickly the play was developing. i.e. was tackled player trying to avoid releasing the ball?

    For me a situation where it is often difficult determine consensus as to what is constitutes the ball being considered "out". Note the "debate" around the USA VS SA 7's game in another thread relatively recently.
    Last edited by ChuckieB; 25-05-17 at 13:05.

  4. #4

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    21,587
    Thanks (Received)
    81
    Likes (Received)
    1036

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    1. grasping with a hand is not binding, but I would need to see it to determine if I thought the problem was failing to bind rather than not forming a ruck. I would tend towards assuming the ruck had been formed, and let it breathe to see if there is a need to blow up.
    A ruck requires "physical contact", and NOT binding. Putting your hands on the player is sufficient.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,127
    Thanks (Received)
    38
    Likes (Received)
    575

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    >> Red ball carrier tackled by Blue.
    >> Ball is placed back and Red support player arrives and crouches over the ball.
    >> Blue player arrives, grasps the Red player over the ball and pulls him forward
    >> so that the ball is now in the clear behind the Red player.

    >>1. When the Blue player grasps the Red player with just his hands does this constitute binding and has a ruck formed?

    Not a bind - not shoulder to wrist etc. All he has done is grab a player. The OP says red had not grasped the ball so arguably its playing a player without the ball.

    >>2. Is it fair play to pull an opponent forward out of a ruck?
    There is no ruck in the OP

    >> 3. If the Red player, pulled forward, goes to ground is that collapsing the ruck?
    There is no ruck in the OP

    >>4. Has the ruck ended when the ball is clear of the hind foot even though the ball didn't move?
    There was no ruck in the OP.

    didds
    Last edited by didds; 25-05-17 at 17:05.

  6. #6

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,127
    Thanks (Received)
    38
    Likes (Received)
    575

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    A ruck requires "physical contact", and NOT binding. Putting your hands on the player is sufficient.

    but if red is over the ball and blue grabs red by the short around the shouilders with just his hand - has blue really closed around the ball?


    this is suspect is the crux

    didds

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    805
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    78

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    but if red is over the ball and blue grabs red by the short around the shouilders with just his hand - has blue really closed around the ball?


    this is suspect is the crux

    didds
    The conditions for a ruck being formed have been met and we go from there. Take yourselves back to the threads re the 6 nations and this was discussed over a number of pages..
    Last edited by ChuckieB; 25-05-17 at 17:05.

  8. #8

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,127
    Thanks (Received)
    38
    Likes (Received)
    575

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    so just to be sure - "closing around the ball" is redundant? being in contact with the player is sufficient?

    didds

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Ref Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    16 May 16
    Posts
    35
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    8

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    If we're not careful I can see another thread like EngVsIta and when is a ruck not a ruck!!

  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,127
    Thanks (Received)
    38
    Likes (Received)
    575

    Default Re: Pulling a player forward

    ah yes - I seem to recall the ref on the day wasn;t sure either if merely grabbing a player was sufficujent.

    OK - don't restart the thread!

    In which case in the OP a ruck is formed and collapsing the ruck has occurred, playing advantage to see if red claim the ball usefully with the ruck illegally having "ended" by being collapsed and now no ruck existing

    except... the OP doesn't say the red player went to ground... so if bhe satys on his feet then ruck over ball clear, no collapse.

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •