Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

      
  1. #1

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,460
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    680

    Default deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    Argentina v England 2nd Test
    66:05 minutes (match clock)



    Hughes is at the back of a driving maul making ground, deep within England's half when Lavanni takes him out... in from the side/offside whatever. Totally clinical, totally deliberate and Hughes gets an injury to his knee as a direct result (he even looks as if he is crying!)

    The action was deep inside the England half - I'd hope had it been within the Arg 22m it would have been a card. As it is, being in the oppo half (ie England's) it warranted no more than a PK - Lavanni didn't even get a talking to!. Is this the general rule ? A cynically. blatant illegal action can never warrant a YC (high tackles etc aside presumably) unless its in the "red zone" ?

    didds

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    155
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    24

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    I was expecting a card, although credit to the players as no significant reaction beyond Hughes himself, maybe that in itself is why?

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    876
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    89

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    Just another thing not covered in the laws and associated guidelines.

    The focus appears to be on reckless and dangerous but, only in association with resulting contact with the head.

  4. #4

    Referees/Trains Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,176
    Thanks (Received)
    87
    Likes (Received)
    823
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    It was a cheap shot and it was dangerous.
    It should have been carded, but I think Lacey left them in the changing room.

    Follow my blog The Rugby Ref


  5. #5

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    12,746
    Thanks (Received)
    91
    Likes (Received)
    1223

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    Just another thing not covered in the laws and associated guidelines.

    The focus appears to be on reckless and dangerous but, only in association with resulting contact with the head.
    In RL, this is known as a "cannonball tackle" - the ball carrier is held in a standing tackle by two or more opponents in a situation that is not unlike a RU maul, then before the referee calls "held" another player comes in with a shoulder at knee level.

    Not sure what happens up north in Supeleague, but in the NRL the player usually goes on report and cops a suspension.

    This should have been RC IMO - deliberate intent to injure.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Lee Lifeson-Peart's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    (South) Yorkshire Referee's Society
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    12 Mar 08
    Posts
    7,003
    Thanks (Received)
    35
    Likes (Received)
    526

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    It was a cheap shot and it was dangerous.
    It should have been carded, but I think Lacey left them in the changing room.
    His cards or his cojones?
    And a crack on the head is what you get for asking... - Morrissey & Marr 1985

  7. #7

    Referees/Trains Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,176
    Thanks (Received)
    87
    Likes (Received)
    823
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Lifeson-Peart View Post
    His cards or his cojones?
    Both, along with his law book.

    Follow my blog The Rugby Ref


  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria -The North
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,766
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    80

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    This is exactly how my playing days were ended some 20 years ago -and I'm still reminded every day by the discomfort and disturbed sleep. broken bones can heal but torn or ruptured ligaments are almost never the same again.
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

  9. #9

    Referees in Scotland
    Jolly Roger's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh - ERRS
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    19 Feb 10
    Posts
    101
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    25

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    Contact was made by the tackler's head, against a stationary target, from close range. Totally deliberate intent to injure. RC
    Keep smiling!

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,326
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    506

    Default Re: deliberate, cynical In from the side, no card?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    Just another thing not covered in the laws and associated guidelines.

    The focus appears to be on reckless and dangerous but, only in association with resulting contact with the head.
    Are you sure?

    Surely 10.4 (k) Dangerous play in a scrum, ruck or maul.

    Players must not intentionally collapse a scrum, ruck or maul.
    Sanction: Penalty kick

    Of course there is the catch all 10.4 (m)

    Acts contrary to good sportsmanship. A player must not do anything that is against the
    spirit of good sportsmanship in the playing enclosure.
    Sanction: Penalty kick


    It is clearly Dangerous Play and if you as a ref think it is then deal with it as such. If you don't think it is dangerous then I dispair. I guess the Law makers expected that to be clear to all, including JL.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •