Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 242

Thread: Sneaky QTI

      
  1. #21

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,657
    Thanks (Received)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    271

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Lifeson-Peart View Post
    c.13 seconds to throw the ball in!! Maybe longer - the ball's in the hookers hands when the camera cuts to the LO. It wouldn't have worked if I was refereeing either - we'd be having a FK before that.
    It wasn't just me thinking "Come on" then.

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Anybody else notice this nicely sneaky QTI "move" last saturday by the MAB? They did it twice (not sure when the other instance is) so I do think its pre-planned, or at least pre-considered. Smart play. Good thinking.
    Now that the BIL have seen the plot in action, it is easily countered just by a BIL player putting his foot on the ball.

  2. #22

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,020
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    775

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    I don't suppose it will have gone unnoticed by some teams other than the BIL.

    but it may have gone unnoticed by the opponents of the teams that have noticed it.

    didds

  3. #23

    Referees in England
    Lee Lifeson-Peart's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    (South) Yorkshire Referee's Society
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    12 Mar 08
    Posts
    7,073
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    571

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    I don't suppose it will have gone unnoticed by some teams other than the BIL.

    but it may have gone unnoticed by the opponents of the teams that have noticed it.

    didds
    Are you Donald Rumsfelt?
    And a crack on the head is what you get for asking... - Morrissey & Marr 1985

  4. #24

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,690
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1364

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    I think we are all agreed that there is some sort of time limit for a QTI. Probably not completely fixed as context will matter, but the Q in QTI is important, they can't wait forever.

    Another Law question though - if it is done quickly - is it allowed to retrieve the ball, put it down, and then pick it up again and perform a QTI ? Or does putting it down signify that a full lineout has been chosen

  5. #25
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Indeed, but rarely by international teams.
    True. And how sad it is that it is true. In the North we tend to coach all the ideas out of players and end up with robots. Often the SH label the nor as lumbering boring players and yet, at the grassroots, we have plenty of flair. Flair just waiting for a "good" coahc to remove on the way to the top.

  6. #26

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,690
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1364

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    but perhaps we are seeing the return of unexpected/confusion plays -- viz Italy in the 6N as an example.

    I have an impression that I have seen a lot more unusual kick offs at top level recently (sudden and disguised change in direction, a low, hard kick aimed directly at a prop 10m away, expecting a knock on, grubber kicks --- that sort of thing)

  7. #27
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    It must be hoped that you are right. Sadly we a stuck with "WarrenBall". Which is why we actually have plenty of empty seats in the Millstone Stadium even for Wales V All Black games. Boring beyond belief!

  8. #28

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    29 Oct 14
    Posts
    394
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    142

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I think we are all agreed that there is some sort of time limit for a QTI. Probably not completely fixed as context will matter, but the Q in QTI is important, they can't wait forever.

    Another Law question though - if it is done quickly - is it allowed to retrieve the ball, put it down, and then pick it up again and perform a QTI ? Or does putting it down signify that a full lineout has been chosen
    As far as I can see there is nothing in the laws which prevents this.

    I'm all for this sort of tactic. Anything that keeps the ball in play more is good in my books (although a lot of times they just throw long to the FB in the middle of the park who boots it out again!).

    Still get loads of complaints in games I referee about taking a lineout after it's been 'marked'. I get tired of explaining lineout law and just ignore them, play on!

  9. #29

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    12,930
    Thanks (Received)
    98
    Likes (Received)
    1327

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I think we are all agreed that there is some sort of time limit for a QTI. Probably not completely fixed as context will matter, but the Q in QTI is important, they can't wait forever.

    Another Law question though - if it is done quickly - is it allowed to retrieve the ball, put it down, and then pick it up again and perform a QTI ? Or does putting it down signify that a full lineout has been chosen
    The ONLY Law that limits when a QTI is taken is

    Law 19.2 (c) A player must not take a quick throw-in after the lineout has formed


    If you disallow a QTI when a line-out has not yet formed, then you are making up your own Laws

    If you consider that either team has unduly delayed forming a line out for any reason (for example, so that they can operate a subterfuge), then you only have two options in Law, both of them are FK;

    Law 19.8 (g) Failure to form a lineout. A team must not voluntarily fail to form a lineout.


    Law 10.2 (b) Time-wasting. A player must not intentionally waste time.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  10. #30

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,657
    Thanks (Received)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    271

    Default Re: Sneaky QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    ... Another Law question though - if it is done quickly - is it allowed to retrieve the ball, put it down, and then pick it up again and perform a QTI ? Or does putting it down signify that a full lineout has been chosen
    I can't see anything that prevents a player putting the ball down and picking it up again.

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    but perhaps we are seeing the return of unexpected/confusion plays -- viz Italy in the 6N as an example.
    I for one hope you're right. It makes players think about the laws and adds a bit of excitement.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •