Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Marking a lineout does the thrower count.

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,205
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    119

    Default Marking a lineout does the thrower count.

    Had a few QTI on Saturday but one got me thinking.
    Had the usual one man chasing the kick a few times, I'm marking it sir shouts, no your not you need two from each side, play on.
    One time had one chasing red calling its marked sir, I was on 5M line and there were at least 2 blues at line of touch ball was thrown in and I call play on.
    Red hooker says I was there so there was 2 of us so that shouldn't be allowed.
    Now this got me thinking as he was clearly a participating player, should I have called line is formed?
    Ciaran Trainor

  2. #2

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    12,802
    Thanks (Received)
    93
    Likes (Received)
    1255

    Default Re: Marking a lineout does the thrower count.

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    Had a few QTI on Saturday but one got me thinking.
    Had the usual one man chasing the kick a few times, I'm marking it sir shouts, no your not you need two from each side, play on.
    One time had one chasing red calling its marked sir, I was on 5M line and there were at least 2 blues at line of touch ball was thrown in and I call play on.
    Red hooker says I was there so there was 2 of us so that shouldn't be allowed.
    Now this got me thinking as he was clearly a participating player, should I have called line is formed?
    First thing I would ask is what do you define as being "at the LoT"?

    IMO, they first have to be there for the purpose of forming a line-out - Law 19.8(d) every player who approaches the line of touch is presumed to do so to form a lineout. - Two fullbacks, a fly half and a centre at the LoT are not there to form a line-out (although we do see an increasing number of teams using backs in the line-out so maybe that doesn't necessarily hold). If we use the Law definition "near" as a guideline, then players are at the LoT when they are within 1m either side of it.

    Second thing keep in mind is that while the LoT runs from the touchline to touchline, the line-out can only be formed between the 5m line and the 15m line. Any player outside the touchline cannot be at the LoT, and it seems reasonable to me that any player further than 15m from the touchline cannot be there form a lineout at that point, so I would not count them either. (to those who disagree with this, do you think that two outside backs on the LoT 70m away on the opposite side of the field are there for the purpose of forming a line-out and should be counted when deciding if a QTi is allowed or not?)
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: Marking a lineout does the thrower count.

    Agreed.

  4. #4

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    7,932
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    535

    Default Re: Marking a lineout does the thrower count.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    IMO, they first have to be there for the purpose of forming a line-out - Law 19.8(d) every player who approaches the line of touch is presumed to do so to form a lineout. - Two fullbacks, a fly half and a centre at the LoT are not there to form a line-out (although we do see an increasing number of teams using backs in the line-out so maybe that doesn't necessarily hold). If we use the Law definition "near" as a guideline, then players are at the LoT when they are within 1m either side of it.
    Y'know, I've always known that law but never really thought about it that way.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,063
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    146

    Default Re: Marking a lineout does the thrower count.

    If he is actually marking the throw - that is standing just more than 5m in field tracking the ball carrier, then the throwing side probably will not risk the quick throw.
    If he stands on the LOT like a lemon - well he is being a lemon.

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,205
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    119

    Default Re: Marking a lineout does the thrower count.

    Just to clarify the ball was thrown in 5m back from the LoT by blue winger who had recovered the kick. I had noticed the red hooker more or less I n a standard non throwing position but decided he was not part of the line out.
    Ciaran Trainor

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •