Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Kick hits own player - offence?)

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    29 Oct 14
    Posts
    388
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    142

    Default Kick hits own player - offence?)

    Scenario is say Blue 10 kicks the ball after ruck, hits blue 8 who is 2 metres ahead of Blue 10, rebounds to blue 10 who runs past standing Red players (who told me they were waiting for me to blow offside) and score a try.

    Is there any offence here? Blue 8 was in front of the ball player, but if the ball just hits him and goes backwards to be recovered by blue, is this offside? Accidental or deliberate (assuming Blue 10 actively tries to catch the ball)? Any other offence?

  2. #2

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    3,340
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    115

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    Isn't it simply?
    11.6 Accidental offside
    (a)When an offside player cannot avoid being touched by the ball or by a team-mate carrying it, the player is accidentally offside. If the player’s team gains no advantage from this, play continues. If the player’s team gains an advantage, a scrum is formed with the opposing team throwing in the ball.


    Was Blue8 onside at the ruck? Was the ball passed back deep to Blue10?
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 10-09-17 at 08:09.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  3. #3
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    9+1
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    202
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    14

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    From how you described it, I would have blown for accidental offside. Certainly I would not have allowed a try. It sounded accidental although it would be interesting to see if the 10 metre law applied.

  4. #4

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,055
    Thanks (Received)
    68
    Likes (Received)
    853

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    In the OP I would certainly blow for accidental offside.

    However, for the sake of discussion: has Blue gained an advantage? Blue #10 started with the ball and ends up with the ball in the same location. Where's the advantage?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,194
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Received)
    474

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    I'd say Accidental offside. Technically the 10 mtr law would apply I guess. But common sense says accidental. I'd say advantage has been gained as had the ball not rebounded the play would have been significantly different.

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,148
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    107

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    one of the easiest calls to make in the game,
    Peep Accidental offside lads, scrum Red
    Ciaran Trainor

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    749
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    111

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    However, for the sake of discussion: has Blue gained an advantage? Blue #10 started with the ball and ends up with the ball in the same location. Where's the advantage?
    You're forgetting that Blue #10 has kicked possession of the ball away - advantage from that is regaining possesion of the ball by virtue of it hitting an offside player of his own side.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  8. #8

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    29 Oct 14
    Posts
    388
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    142

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    You're forgetting that Blue #10 has kicked possession of the ball away - advantage from that is regaining possesion of the ball by virtue of it hitting an offside player of his own side.
    But is the player offside? Yes he is in front of the ball, but once the ball has been passed away from a ruck we are in open play, this is where I get a little confused.

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    TigerCraig's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Sydney North & NSWRRA
    Grade
    Level 1 Ref/Level 2 AR
    Join Date
    19 May 08
    Posts
    1,098
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    91

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    Quote Originally Posted by Paule23 View Post
    But is the player offside? Yes he is in front of the ball, but once the ball has been passed away from a ruck we are in open play, this is where I get a little confused.
    Blue 8 is offside - he is in front of the ball - which is not in and of itself an offence

    Ball strikes him after last being played by a team mate behind him, but he had no chance to avoid it - Law 11.6 (a) applies

    Question then is did Blue gain an advantage - clearly yes

    So, stop play and then restart in terms of Law 11.6 (a) "a scrum is formed with the opposing team throwing in the ball."

  10. #10

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,055
    Thanks (Received)
    68
    Likes (Received)
    853

    Default Re: Kick hits own player - offence?)

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    You're forgetting that Blue #10 has kicked possession of the ball away - advantage from that is regaining possesion of the ball by virtue of it hitting an offside player of his own side.
    I haven't forgotten that.

    Blue #10 made a decision that kicking the ball was more advantageous than holding onto the ball. This plan was thwarted because the ball ended up back where he didn't want it - in his hands. How is that an advantage?

    PS: I only offer this as an intellectual exercise. Those that bemoan discussing law minutiae are encouraged to move on - nothing for you here.
    Last edited by Dickie E; 11-09-17 at 03:09.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •