Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: another touch incident ...

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,979
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default another touch incident ...

    this is from Northampton v Saracens yesterday

    https://youtu.be/Pu9S-p6z6gk?t=4726

    Q1 - again, despite what the commentators say, this is all about the plane of touch right?
    Q2 - and the new Laws haven't changed anything, have they? same as last year
    Q3 - given this, which side of the plane does he catch it? Note that the AR isn't even positioned in the right place to tell (I would suggest it's impossible for us to tell - therefore give him the benefit of the doubt, play on)
    Last edited by crossref; 16-10-17 at 15:10.

  2. #2

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,518
    Thanks (Received)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    236

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    Q1 - again, despite what the commentators say, this is all about the plane of touch right? Not necessarily. Williams wasn't in touch when he caught the ball, so I reckon the "plane of touch" is irrelevant in this case.

    Q2 - and the new Laws haven't changed anything, have they? same as last year. That's how I understand it. I wouldn't have called that in touch last season - and I wouldn't this season.

    Q3 - given this, which side of the plane does he catch it? I would say it doesn't matter. He wasn't in touch when he caught it.

    To me, this just goes to show that the best players need to know the laws inside out as well.
    Last edited by Taff; 16-10-17 at 15:10.

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,979
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Q1 - again, despite what the commentators say, this is all about the plane of touch right? Not necessarily. Williams wasn't in touch when he caught the ball, so I reckon the "plane of touch" is irrelevant in this case.
    are you sure ? If he'd caught the ball a clear 1m beyond the touchline (and still landed in the FoP) you'd be OK with it?

    I think he has to catch it the right side of the plane (and this case would give him benefit of doubt -- play on)
    Last edited by crossref; 16-10-17 at 15:10.

  4. #4
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,969
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    254

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    One law change pertains to who put the ball in touch when the player catching it is in touch. See first amendment in Law 19 Definitions. Here the plane of touch comes into play.

    If a player is standing in the FoP, or leaps from the FoP, to catch or play a ball into the FoP he may do so even if the ball has crossed the plane of touch. The second amendment to the Law 19 definitions clearly allows the ball to cross the plane.

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,979
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    in this case he leaps from touch into the FoP, catching the ball while in the air (and is still holding the ball when he lands)
    Last edited by crossref; 16-10-17 at 16:10.

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Ref Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    16 May 16
    Posts
    44
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    10

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    This is one of those scenarios where referees are trying to reward positive play.

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    968
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    99
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    If the ball is successfully returned to the field of play without him being in touch, it is play on regardless of whether it has crossed the plane of touch or not.

    Of that I am now clear. This example needs to go on the WR library of clips!

  8. #8

    Referees in Scotland
    Blue Smartie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    SRU / ERRS
    Grade
    National Panel
    Join Date
    16 Oct 13
    Posts
    75
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    9

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    For me this is an error. Only players who jump from the field of play (ie ‘in-to-out’) can keep the ball in play. ‘Out-to-in’ players can only do so if the ball has not crossed plane of touch.

    “If a player jumps from the playing area and knocks the ball back into the playing area (or if that player catches the ball and throws it back into the playing area) before landing in touch or touch-in-goal, play continues regardless of whether the ball reaches the plane of touch.
    A player in touch may kick or knock the ball, but not hold it, provided it has not crossed the plane of the touchline.”

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,979
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    If the ball is successfully returned to the field of play without him being in touch, it is play on regardless of whether it has crossed the plane of touch or not.

    Of that I am now clear. This example needs to go on the WR library of clips!
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue Smartie View Post
    For me this is an error. Only players who jump from the field of play (ie ‘in-to-out’) can keep the ball in play. ‘Out-to-in’ players can only do so if the ball has not crossed plane of touch.
    I think that despite Law 19 having loads of words ... it doesn't actually cover this scenario.

    I suspect that if we sent to the question to WR they would agree with Blue Smartie -- because imagine if the catch was a full 1m outside the plane of touch --- it would then start to look very wrong.

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    968
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    99
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: another touch incident ...

    The stuation does not meet any of laws for the ball being deemed to be in touch. As such it has not left the field of play and so there is not question to be asked about the plane.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •