Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: no nr 8 in scrum

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    415
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    35

    Default no nr 8 in scrum

    lets say a team cant field a full team .
    youth / simillar
    so both teams decide to go 7 man scrum { as allowed }
    so no nr 8 .

    would you allow a designated nr { lets say 6 or 7 }
    to act as nr 8 .

    the formation in most competition rules state
    a formation of 3 & 4 { if there is no 8 }

    now in youth irfu land .
    it states a nr 8 must bind between both locks .

    but if we take him away .
    would you let flanker , bind in 8 position .

    i dont think its allowed .
    so technically , there can be no 8 & pick .

    any views or even is there a law on this .

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,372
    Thanks (Received)
    98
    Likes (Received)
    911
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: no nr 8 in scrum

    For youth games the scrums must be balanced, so the answer is No.

    For adults I see no issue with a flanker binding as No 8 providing he does it throughout the scrum. I wouldn't let him start in one position and end in another since this would involve loosing his bind (we have been told).

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  3. #3

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,909
    Thanks (Received)
    43
    Likes (Received)
    749

    Default Re: no nr 8 in scrum

    what phil said.

    But particularly at U19 levels there is no leeway - a 7 man scrum MUST pack 3+4 for both packs. it makes a bloody mess of the resulting ball....

    didds

  4. #4

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    512
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    66

    Default Re: no nr 8 in scrum

    Though usually the #8, the law for unbinding and picking up the ball does not mention the number or position of the player allowed to do so.

    20.10(c)

    Hindmost player unbinds. The hindmost player in a scrum is the player whose feet are nearest the team’s own goal line. If the hindmost player unbinds from the scrum with the ball at that player’s feet and picks up the ball, the scrum ends.

  5. #5

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    21,986
    Thanks (Received)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    1254

    Default Re: no nr 8 in scrum

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    Though usually the #8, the law for unbinding and picking up the ball does not mention the number or position of the player allowed to do so.

    20.10(c)

    Hindmost player unbinds. The hindmost player in a scrum is the player whose feet are nearest the team’s own goal line. If the hindmost player unbinds from the scrum with the ball at that player’s feet and picks up the ball, the scrum ends.
    From the WR site
    20.9 (b) Handling in the scrum - exception

    Allow the number eight to pick the ball from the feet of the second-rows.
    (My highlighting)
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #6

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    512
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    66

    Default Re: no nr 8 in scrum

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    From the WR site
    20.9 (b) Handling in the scrum - exception

    Allow the number eight to pick the ball from the feet of the second-rows.
    (My highlighting)
    Wait, are you to tell me that the GLT17 are inconsistent with current law?

    If in 15s a scrum wheels a bit, you would not allow the hindmost player in the scrum, who is now a flanker, to pick up the ball at his feet?

    Or would you only allow him to pick the ball up if it is at his feet and not at the feet of the second rows?

    Edited to remove the question about 10s.
    Last edited by thepercy; 20-10-17 at 19:10.

  7. #7

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    21,986
    Thanks (Received)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    1254

    Default Re: no nr 8 in scrum

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    Wait, are you to tell me that the GLT17 are inconsistent with current law?
    Not so much inconsistent, as out of kilter.

    If a scrum wheels so that the flanker has the hindmost feet, he can break to pick up the ball if it is at his feet, but cannot pick the ball out of the second row.

    The trial law allows the #8 to pick the ball out of the second row even if he no longer has the hindmost feet.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •