Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Wales v Oz and 19.2(e)

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,554
    Thanks (Received)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    1028

    Default Wales v Oz and 19.2(e)

    Law 19.2(e) has never really sat comfortably with me. Specifically, the law requires that if a player takes a QTI from "ahead of the line of touch" he loses possession even if the AR hasn't yet indicated where the LoT is.

    19.2 (e)
    An incorrect quick throw-in occurs when:

    •The ball is thrown towards the opponents goal line, or
    •The ball is thrown in ahead of the line of touch, or
    •The ball is thrown in on or behind the goal line, or
    •The ball touches the ground or a player before reaching the 5 metre line, or
    •The thrower steps into the field-of-play when throwing the ball.

    The opposing team’s choices are to elect to throw in at either:
    •a lineout where the quick throw was attempted, or
    •a scrum on the 15-metre line at that place.


    In the 55th minute of the Wales v Oz game, Genia takes a QTI from ahead of LoT & referee Jackson correctly disallows this. However, the resulting lineout was given to Australia.

    So I'm either misreading 19.2 or Jackson has applied (IMO) a common sense approach.

    Either way, it has given me some confidence to follow the Jackson route.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: Wales v Oz and 19.2(e)

    How far ahead was he? I'd suggest common sense:

    as you imply it is not always easy to be accurate in the hurly burly of a game for either the player or, indeed, the officials.

    SO:

    If it as very close - Apply C&O principles and ply on.


    If reasonably close but not taking the mick go again with a full line out.


    If taking the mick then go for the "full letter of the law".

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    604
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    128

    Default Re: Wales v Oz and 19.2(e)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    So I'm either misreading 19.2 or Jackson has applied (IMO) a common sense approach.

    Either way, it has given me some confidence to follow the Jackson route.
    Or he made an error?

  4. #4

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,587
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    247

    Default Re: Wales v Oz and 19.2(e)

    OK, I will admit I didn't know that the law included "The ball is thrown in ahead of the line of touch".

    TBH I would have considered that a QTI taken from the wrong position and just disallowed the QTI, ie we have a "normal LO with the same side throwing in.

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,769
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    328

    Default Re: Wales v Oz and 19.2(e)

    In one of the games I watched over the weekend (so either England v Argentina or Ireland v some scratch team cobbled together from somewhere in the Southern Hemisphere), a QTI was taken with both the thrower's feet clearly infield - with one of them a good metre or more infield. The play was allowed to continue. I strongly suspect that the sanction Dickie mentions in 19.2(e) means that top-level referees and ARs would rather take the stick for getting the decision wrong than the more immediate and vocal stick for getting it right.
    Don't feed the pedant!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •