Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 33 of 33

Thread: How would you deal with this one?

      
  1. #31
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: How would you deal with this one?

    Explain what you see as the inconsistency.

  2. #32

    Referees in Ireland
    Shelflife's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Connacht
    Grade
    LEVEL 3 IRFU
    Join Date
    22 Sep 12
    Posts
    516
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    83

    Default Re: How would you deal with this one?

    Getting back to BFG original point, I think that Foden is half heartedly serious/joking so in this instance as he knows its going to be confirmed by the TMO.

    If in a real game where we dont have TMOs or ARs a player wilfully tries to deceive you I think it would warrant a YC.
    Courage is knowing what lies on the other side and still opening the door !

  3. #33

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,979
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default Re: How would you deal with this one?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pegleg View Post
    Explain what you see as the inconsistency.
    pegleg, I feel like you have brought some manner of axe to grind!

    First inconsistency, you point out yourself: the 2009 memo talks about tackles, and this being a type of dangerous tackle. but then when you turn to the Law book and look at the Law on dangerous tackles 10.4.e , tip tackles are missing.

    Second inconsistency is the different wording in the dfinitions

    memo
    tackles involving a player being lifted off the ground and tipped horizontally and were then either forced or dropped to the ground are illegal and constitute dangerous play.


    10.4.j
    Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that player into the ground whilst that player's feet are still off the ground such that the player's head and/or upper body come into contact with the ground is dangerous play.


    does it matter that the definition is different? After all they aren't that different and they are both driving at the same thing.

    Well, yes defintions do matter - recall at the RWC every single RC and citing for tip tackles under 10.4.j was rejected by the disciplinary panel who said the tackle didn't fit the definition of 10.4.j, and the players were processed under 10.4.e instead (even though the tackles certainly didn't fit the criteria under 10.4.e!)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •