Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: How is this not a YC or RC?

      
  1. #21

    Referees in England
    Nigib's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Oxfordshire
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    02 Jul 07
    Posts
    321
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    61

    Default Re: How is this not a YC or RC?

    This is an automatic YC for me because of the speed - charging into a ruck 10.4(h) "A player must not charge into a ruck or maul".

  2. #22

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    12,746
    Thanks (Received)
    91
    Likes (Received)
    1223

    Default Re: How is this not a YC or RC?

    Quote Originally Posted by VM75 View Post
    how was his participation illegal?
    He is standing in the opponent's side of the ruck whilst not bound, so he's offside ahead of his own team's HMF.

    General Definitions
    Binding: Grasping firmly another player’s body between the shoulders and the hips with
    the whole arm in contact from hand to shoulder.


    16.2 (b) A player joining a ruck must bind on a team-mate or an opponent, using the whole arm. The
    bind must either precede, or be simultaneous with, contact with any other part of the body
    of the player joining the ruck.
    Sanction: Penalty kick
    16.2 (c) Placing a hand on another player in the ruck does not constitute binding.
    Sanction: Penalty kick
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  3. #23

    Referees/Trains Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,184
    Thanks (Received)
    88
    Likes (Received)
    823
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How is this not a YC or RC?

    Quote Originally Posted by VM75 View Post
    I don't PK for something being 'potentially' dangerous, it's either dangerous - or it isn't. The execution/outcome decides.
    Yes you do. We all do.

    Player throws a punch and misses because the other player ducks.
    It was potentially dangerous, but not actually dangerous.
    Are you not going to penalise it?

    That's just one example, I could think of hundreds of others.

    Follow my blog The Rugby Ref


  4. #24

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,464
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    684

    Default Re: How is this not a YC or RC?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Yes you do. We all do.

    Player throws a punch and misses because the other player ducks.
    It was potentially dangerous, but not actually dangerous.
    Are you not going to penalise it?

    That's just one example, I could think of hundreds of others.
    I agree with you Phil, but some here have said in the past that as it didn't connect it never happened and is not to be PKd.

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •