Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 70

Thread: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

      
  1. #11

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,456
    Thanks (Received)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    1002

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    For me, knock on by White, play advantage, ball bounces around, comes back to White player on the ground who plays it. Penalty Blue.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #12

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,979
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    Quote Originally Posted by Pegleg View Post
    It could easily stray into dangerous but is more clumsy than dangerous. A judgement call. In a "hot tempered" game it could be an unwelcome flashpoint.

    No it is not a chargedown.

    Yes he can play it. He's gone to ground to gather the ball.
    he certainly didn't, he went to ground feet first, trying to block a kick with his feet -- then when he was on the ground, having charged it down / knocked it on, (take your choice), the ball happened to fall within his reach.

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    967
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    99
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    For me, knock on by White, play advantage, ball bounces around, comes back to White player on the ground who plays it. Penalty Blue.
    Under what conditions would you pay offer a penalty when there was no playing advantage from the initial infringement?

    This is not advantage territory surely?

  4. #14
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,064
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    146

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    If he was the last person to play the ball, how can he be offside.

    He can be off his feet - but you could argue he went to ground to retrieve it.
    Now you could argue he does not play it immediately and could be pinged for hanging on.

  5. #15

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,456
    Thanks (Received)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    1002

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    Under what conditions would you pay offer a penalty when there was no playing advantage from the initial infringement?

    This is not advantage territory surely?
    What I mean is I would not immediately blow the whistle for the knock on. Having then seen what transpires, I would penalise White for playing the ball on the ground.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  6. #16

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,456
    Thanks (Received)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    1002

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    - but you could argue he went to ground to retrieve it.
    I don't think so. As crossref says, he clearly goes to ground in the act of blocking the ball. By happenstance, the ball bounces around and then ends up back in his hands.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #17

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    52
    Likes (Received)
    378
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    It is illegal (and Dangerous Play) to kick the ball out of an opponent's hands, e.g. to prevent a try being scored, and its Dangerous Play to foot-trip an opponent, why on earth would not not be dangerous play to go sprigs-first into a player's feet to prevent him kicking the ball. If Itoje gets this wrong, it could have serious consequences for the opponent.

    I would PK this for Dangerous Play
    Curiously I find myself agreeing with Ian. It's the action not the outcome Im looking at. One busted ankle and a side order of laceration there!

    Plus PK for soccer slides!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    Drift's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    06 Jan 10
    Posts
    1,774
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    66

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    It is illegal (and Dangerous Play) to kick the ball out of an opponent's hands, e.g. to prevent a try being scored, and its Dangerous Play to foot-trip an opponent, why on earth would not not be dangerous play to go sprigs-first into a player's feet to prevent him kicking the ball. If Itoje gets this wrong, it could have serious consequences for the opponent.

    I would PK this for Dangerous Play
    I get where you are going with that, however I don't think you can penalise it as he just got the ball. For me it's a quiet word about being very careful with his feet but play the knock on.

  9. #19

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 2
    Join Date
    15 Oct 11
    Posts
    908
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    And how about gathering the ball whilst being on the ground?

  10. #20

    Referees in Canada


    Soc/Assoc
    .
    Join Date
    27 May 11
    Posts
    364
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    41

    Default Re: Itoje chargedown v Samoa

    If nothing in law specifically prohibits it, then it is fine.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •