Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: Beale YC

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    343

    Default Beale YC

    Morning,

    Wondering other people's thoughts on Beale's YC against Scotland and why it wasn't a PT.

    If anyone didn't see it, the ball was loose in goal with blue 11 closing in on it when Beale was deemed to have deliberately knocked it into TiG. There were no other gold players around.

    The referee seemed to say he thought Beale was in position to minor the ball legally and so it wouldn't be a PT, but my understanding is that since he infringed, Beale should have been ignored when determining what would probably have happened next.

    Am I wrong about this, or did I misunderstand the referee?

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,273
    Thanks (Received)
    95
    Likes (Received)
    1292

    Default Re: Beale YC

    You are correct .
    The referee did not follow the 'beam him up' process

  3. #3

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,915
    Thanks (Received)
    44
    Likes (Received)
    751

    Default Re: Beale YC

    and in so doing the ref effectively gave beale two bites of the cherry. Poor.

    didds

  4. #4

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,587
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    247

    Default Re: Beale YC

    I didn't hear the commentary (loud busy pub) but I assumed the Ref didn't give a PT because the ball would have probably bounced over TiG before the Scot could get to it.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    343

    Default Re: Beale YC

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    I didn't hear the commentary (loud busy pub) but I assumed the Ref didn't give a PT because the ball would have probably bounced over TiG before the Scot could get to it.
    No, he said something like "gold was in a position to ground the ball first". And Beale was the only gold player anywhere near.

  6. #6

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    7,998
    Thanks (Received)
    37
    Likes (Received)
    556

    Default Re: Beale YC

    What DocY says. His rationale - not challenged by either the AR or the TMO - was that Gold was in a position to ground it.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Club
    Grade
    interested bystander
    Join Date
    02 May 07
    Posts
    4,556
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    68

    Default Re: Beale YC

    no harm done ultimately as we scored the 7 points, but those in the pub (watching on a phone, so no commentary) all surprised it wasn't a PT.
    Hi. I'm Barry Scott.

  8. #8

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    12,893
    Thanks (Received)
    95
    Likes (Received)
    1307

    Default Re: Beale YC

    Should have been PT IMO. Ref got it wrong.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,273
    Thanks (Received)
    95
    Likes (Received)
    1292

    Default Re: Beale YC

    Quote Originally Posted by SimonSmith View Post
    What DocY says. His rationale - not challenged by either the AR or the TMO - was that Gold was in a position to ground it.
    Is the TMO even allowed to challenge the Ref on a law error ?

  10. #10

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,587
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    247

    Default Re: Beale YC

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Is the TMO even allowed to challenge the Ref on a law error ?
    Probably not, but this is the reasdon I reckon the conversation between the Ref and the TMO should be private.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •