Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Maul - Ball Carrier going to ground = tackle?

Probationer Member

Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire
    Grade
    Level 10
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)

Default Maul - Ball Carrier going to ground = tackle?

Caveat - I'm pretty new to reffing.

A game this weekend - Red BC gets smother tackled and a maul sets up, with 3 or 4 players from each side. BC is in contact with Blue player who is trying to rip. BC goes to ground and the ball touches the floor. Blue player starts to jackel, and claims that the maul has now become a tackle and he is permitted to challenge.

My call was that a ruck has ensued, and that this is hands in. PK to Red.

I've been looking for a straight answer, but can't quite get clarity in the threads I have been reading.

Question: Is this a ruck? Do the ruck laws apply? Or do we really have a tackle occurring in the middle of a maul?

Thanks.

Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Maul - Ball Carrier going to ground = tackle?

Welcome!

It's often a confusing situation around mauls, but you were quite correct - it was not a tackle. Law 15.2 says that explicitly.

Once a maul has started, providing you don't blow for a penalty, there's either a successful end to the maul (ball comes out, ball crosses the tryline, or ball goes to the ground), or an unsuccessful end and a scrum ensues.

The ball went to the ground in this case, with players closed over the ball. Sounds like ruck formed to me.

Edit: It's always good to call the situation clearly, so that players know what their rights are in the situation. "Maul!" when you judge the maul to have started, "ruck!" when it becomes such, and "leave it!" in case they're still confused
    Last edited by Rich_NL; 1 Week Ago at 11:12.

Resident Club Coach

Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)