Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Player in scrumhalf position

      
  1. #11

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,319
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    635

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    19.9.B.5

    "When a ruck or maul develops in a lineout, and all the feet of all the players in the ruck or maul move beyond the line of touch, the lineout ends."
    Thanks for the confirmation TP.

    So in theory a lineout maul could have a crocodile of players at the rear

    1.png

    meaning their foremost maul players are well in front of the LoT (> 1m) while the rearmost is still just behind the LoT

    didds

  2. #12
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    202

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    Quote Originally Posted by Methos View Post
    Hi All

    This is my first post on here following a disagreement with a fellow coach. Can you please clarify this situation. My team called a 5 man lineout. Instead of having a no 9 at the no 9 position we put a big guy. We throw in and catch the ball - can the big guy be the guy that rips the ball from the jumper and starts the maul? Or does the lineout first have to move one meter before he can join?

    The reasoning behind this getting the maul started with a 5 vs 6 situation.

    Regards
    Welcome to the forum Methos. My guess is the "other coach" is telling you that the receiver can't join until the maul moves 1m? Well, he just started a new Rugby Myth to be debunked!

    One meter has no bearing on lineout or maul other than space between lineout players prior to the throw and so has no bearing on your question.

    What is important is that a maul doesn't exist until the opponents join so the ball can't be moved back from the catcher until they do. So, keep the ball in the catchers hands as you advance toward their goal and when the ops join then your big bloke can rip it.

    The maul doesn't end until all feet have advanced past the original line of touch so if your drive stalls before that happens your #9 (lined up with the backs?) can't advance to serve the ball.

  3. #13

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,164
    Thanks (Received)
    71
    Likes (Received)
    881

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    My guess is the "other coach" is telling you that the receiver can't join until the maul moves 1m? Well, he just started a new Rugby Myth to be debunked!
    I think the 1 metre is a bit of a red herring.

    What the other coach is suggesting is that the receiver can't join the lineout/maul until after the lineout has ended (ie maul has moved off LoT).

    IMO he can join as soon as the ball is thrown in with the only restriction being that he can't rip the ball and continue in the maul, until after the maul has formed (ie opponents have engaged) else he will be creating an obstruction issue. if he rips the ball and immediately runs or passes, that would be OK.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #14
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    202

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    I think the 1 metre is a bit of a red herring.

    What the other coach is suggesting is that the receiver can't join the lineout/maul until after the lineout has ended (ie maul has moved off LoT).
    Perhaps, but the "other coach" may also believe that the lineout ends when the ball leaves the line of touch, thus the 1m. This would be correct if a maul hadn't formed.
    Last edited by ChrisR; 1 Week Ago at 12:12.

  5. #15
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    30 Oct 17
    Posts
    9
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    3

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    Didn't Wales have a habit of doing this a couple of years back with the 15 man Maul.

  6. #16
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Tenth
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,376
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    287

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    Quote Originally Posted by oddshapedball View Post
    Didn't Wales have a habit of doing this a couple of years back with the 15 man Maul.
    Not quite - Wales put 14 men into the lineout and formed the maul normally (i.e. without the scrum half taking the ball). If the SH did join in, it was only binding on the back.

  7. #17

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,319
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    635

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    ... which in the OP is all that is actually needed. It doesn;t HAVE to be the receiver. He still gets presumably the extra beefier man in the maul driving.

    didds

  8. #18
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,267
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Received)
    494

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    Quote Originally Posted by oddshapedball View Post
    Didn't Wales have a habit of doing this a couple of years back with the 15 man Maul.
    I'd not say it was a habit. They did it a handful of times. Hardly a habit.

  9. #19

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    991
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    61

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    I see this quite often with the 9 being in opposition to the throwing hooker, the defending hooker in the line and a back row forward as the receiver. Not a problem in law for me.

  10. #20

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,319
    Thanks (Received)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    635

    Default Re: Player in scrumhalf position

    The only "issue" I see - open to debate anyway - is whether the receiver can be the player that latches onto the ball post catch and land. (That doesn't necessarily mean he takes it from the catcher). I would suggest he can, if only because it seems a technical offense (if it is even an offense) rather than anything really daft.

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •