Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Romain vs TMO

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,456
    Thanks (Received)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    1002
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    119

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    Good decision by romain, if you can't see it you can't give it
    Ciaran Trainor

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    548
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    112

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    Seems fair.

    Although the law is "doubt about grounding", there's no requirement to witness ball contact to ground. I'm certain of a lot of things I've never seen.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    202
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    In hindsight he asked the wrong question, if it had been "any reason I can't ...." then a different outcome, and for a lot of us out in the sticks where you have no doubt that it's been grounded under control then it's also a try. Part of the reason I don't like the "Try Yes or No" question, removes too much from the referees hands.

    Intrigued though, what is the protocol, for that question, *can* Romain overall the TMO if he doesn't like the answer - am assuming so watching this!

  5. #5

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,514
    Thanks (Received)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    235

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    ... Intrigued though, what is the protocol, for that question, *can* Romain overall the TMO if he doesn't like the answer - am assuming so watching this!
    The Ref is in sole charge, so I would say yes.

    I must admit, out in the sticks I would have given the try. Although I can't physically see it, given the position of the opponents etc I ca't believe that ball didn't touch a single blade of in-goal grass.
    Last edited by Taff; 13-12-17 at 11:12.

  6. #6

    Referees in New Zealand


    Soc/Assoc
    Waikato
    Grade
    Colts/lower grade seniors
    Join Date
    05 May 11
    Posts
    1,488
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    144

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    That is a really tough one. I can see the argument both ways.

    I am virtually certain that the ball would have touched the ground. Because of the way the ball was carried and they way the player fell, I would be amazed if it didn't touch the ground.

    On the other hand we didn't actually see it on the ground.

    Can you give it? I think it's a very interesting dilemma. I don't know the answer to this question.
    "There is far too much talk about good ball and bad ball. In my opinion, good ball is when you have possession and bad ball is when the opposition have it." - Dick Jeeps

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,456
    Thanks (Received)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    1002

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    The system is flawed.

    These days when the ref goes upstairs, all he is really asking for is the opportunity to wtach it again on the big screen. I don't know why we bother with a TMO apart from the "check, check" behind play foul play calls.

    I think RL does it better. If the ref refers it upstairs, he should leave it to upstairs to decide.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,135
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    100

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    I think Romain thought he was asking the correct question, it was just that he felt he got an unsupported (and thus incorrect) answer from the TMO, but it was played out in public.

    As to "if you don't see it you cant give it" I think it depends. If a ball carrier goes in goal and you are behind him and he is carrying the ball at his chest, even if you don't see the grounding, I think it is reasonable to award the try unless there is some evidence that he lost it forward, eg the ball squirts out. Similarly if there are opposition with hands on the ball, I tend to assume the try is scored unless it was clearly held up and off the ground. Fingers underneath is not enough unless the hand itself is clear of the grass.

    But what do you do about the "he punched me" that you did not see - nothing, or perhaps a word with the "offending" team's skipper. But what about a bite if there are clearly teeth marks? Depends on how identifiable the culprit is, but I would give a RC if I knew (eg he was the only one in the clinch) who did it and there were teeth marks that could not have been self inflicted.

  9. #9

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,759
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    725

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    Depends on how identifiable the culprit is, but I would give a RC if I knew (eg he was the only one in the clinch) who did it and there were teeth marks that could not have been self inflicted.

    How do you know the bite marks weren't there before the clinch?

    didds

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Bristol
    Grade
    Junior Ref (U17)
    Join Date
    16 Mar 07
    Posts
    107
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: Romain vs TMO

    RP had clearly seen what he wanted, so should have interjected before TMO could give his answer. He could have asked "I can't see grounding; can you?". Net result is he made the TMO look a plonker. Not good for rugby.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •