Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Long arm transfer sanction

      
  1. #1
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    North Mids
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Jan 17
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Long arm transfer sanction

    Hi all! Just a quick one - I wondered what the sanction is for a long arm transfer at the lineout? Would you give a penalty kick or a free kick to the opposition? Presumably on the fifteen?

    Any idea on the secondary signal?!

    Thank you!

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria -The North
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,773
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    81

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    PK; Obstruction by immediate supporting players preventing tackle of eventual pass back receiver; Lineout infringement so Pk on 15m line. Make sure everyone understands what it is for-GIVE THE SIGNAL as well as verbals.
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

  3. #3

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    444
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    39

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    If a maul HAS started , yes i agree penalty kick . ( signal an imitation of a long arm pass & also obstruction )
    Your question doesnt state maul scenario .

    If no maul started ,,as in opposition intentionally dont engage ( as some teams prefer not to )
    I would suggest use it or loose it .even if it was a long arm pass . ( accidental off side ,scrum turn over ball )

    However if they make a maul type formation ( with opposition deliberately not engaging )
    And start marching forward ,,this then would be penalty . For obstruction also

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    579
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    146

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    Quote Originally Posted by tim White View Post
    PK; Obstruction by immediate supporting players preventing tackle of eventual pass back receiver; Lineout infringement so Pk on 15m line. Make sure everyone understands what it is for-GIVE THE SIGNAL as well as verbals.
    I raised this question as soon as this was explained as being illegal. The answer was that the penalty is on the place of the obstruction because as soon as the pass has been made the lineout is over.

  5. #5
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,116
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    296

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    Quote Originally Posted by Christy View Post
    If a maul HAS started , yes i agree penalty kick . ( signal an imitation of a long arm pass & also obstruction )
    If a maul has started, ie. opponents engaged, then surely the 'long pass' restriction doesn't apply.

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    579
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    146

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    If a maul has started, ie. opponents engaged, then surely the 'long pass' restriction doesn't apply.
    I think what is meant is that if a player takes the ball off a long pass then players that are in front of the long pass and have bound onto the ball carrier are now obstructing because the pass taker with the ball now in hand now binds onto players in front of him.

  7. #7
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    404
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    If the ball is 'long' passed to a player who then binds onto the 'passer' to form a maul then that is a penalty for obstruction.

    The ripper should be in contact with the ball carrier before the ball is transferred.

    However don't forget that if the ball is 'long' passed to a player who then runs or passes it is play on.

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    579
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    146

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    I think it is universally agreed that it is penalty. The point to remember is that the penalty in this circumstance is at the point of the offence and not on the 15M line. This is totally different to the obstruction caused by lifters stepping in front of the catcher where the penalty ios on the 15M line because it is a lineout offence.

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,462
    Thanks (Received)
    109
    Likes (Received)
    966
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    Watching games in the Premiership over the last few weeks. Referees at that level seem to have stopped penalising this.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,020
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    775

    Default Re: Long arm transfer sanction

    Quelle surprise....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •