Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 70

Thread: uncontested maul restart

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,454
    Thanks (Received)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    1000

    Default uncontested maul restart

    Blue win lineout and form up players in conventional maul formation. Red decline to participate in maul. Blue move forward. What is the outcome of this event? Law or clarification reference please
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,759
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    725

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    as long as the ball is at the front blue can move forward with impunity.

    this is where somebody starts claiming a flaying wedge. Well, if Blue are at barely above walking pace play on.

    red can of course TACKLE the ball carrier.

    We will now have a 5,932 post thread about whether a flying wedge is occuring, whether its only a FW if < 5m from the try line, and will have several side threads about the colour of contact lenses, the flavour of cardboard, and whther a numbered shirt can be worn inside out because of kit colour clashes but thus not displaying the number.

    Havent; we been here before several dozen times?

    didds

    didds

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,454
    Thanks (Received)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    1000

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    as long as the ball is at the front blue can move forward with impunity.

    this is where somebody starts claiming a flaying wedge. Well, if Blue are at barely above walking pace play on.

    red can of course TACKLE the ball carrier.

    We will now have a 5,932 post thread about whether a flying wedge is occuring, whether its only a FW if < 5m from the try line, and will have several side threads about the colour of contact lenses, the flavour of cardboard, and whther a numbered shirt can be worn inside out because of kit colour clashes but thus not displaying the number.

    Havent; we been here before several dozen times?

    didds

    didds
    yeah, forget flying wedge.

    Blue move ball to back of "maul"? What then?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    965
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    98
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    The first defending player to then contact the front of the formation would cause me to blow for offensive offside.

    I wouldn't consider this situation to be accidental on the part of the attacking side. They are contriving a situation as regards second guessing the defending side being prepared to contest the situation.

    It's a tactic I am sure we all have our own opinion on.

    You should play the situation in front you.

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,963
    Thanks (Received)
    89
    Likes (Received)
    1229

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    Our guidance is ..
    If they keep the ball at the front, play on
    If they move ball to back, they must not move forward (Sanction : scrum for accidental offside)
    I am not sure this guidance is supported by any Law or Clarification, but it's very well understood in London.

  6. #6

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,759
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    725

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Blue move ball to back of "maul"? What then?
    defender bumps the front of the "maul" and wins a scrum for accidental obstruction (this "penalty" based on what Ive read and seen. Personally Ive no issue with it being a PK).

    IN reality from what I see ref immediately calls use it - and means it to be "immediately".

    Otherwise presumably defender can run around the back and tackle the BC tail gunner.

    We had a thread not so long ago about the "maul" being set up, ball at the front where the attackers didn't move and the defenders hung off and stalemate ensued.

    didds

  7. #7

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,759
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    725

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Our guidance is ..

    If they move ball to back, they must not move forward (Sanction : scrum for accidental offside)
    would you permit a defender top run around the back to tackle the BC if they do not move forward CR?

    didds

  8. #8

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    377
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    32

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    would you permit a defender top run around the back to tackle the BC if they do not move forward CR?

    didds
    hi all .
    in answer to didds question above ,,for me the answer is yes , i would allow a defender to run around back & tackle ball carrier .

    again for me .
    ball at front & advancing forward = play on {{ for me this would not be a flying wedge penalty situation , never seen it penalized for same either }
    ball at back & stationery = i would be saying use it ,, if they pass ball away i would play on ..
    ball at back & advancing forward = i would penalise same ,

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,963
    Thanks (Received)
    89
    Likes (Received)
    1229

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    would you permit a defender top run around the back to tackle the BC if they do not move forward CR?

    didds
    No, because the lineout isn't over, so they can't leave the lineout .

    Call use it because until they use it all 30 players are stuck ..

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,333
    Thanks (Received)
    97
    Likes (Received)
    890
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: uncontested maul restart

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Blue win lineout and form up players in conventional maul formation. Red decline to participate in maul. Blue move forward. What is the outcome of this event? Law or clarification reference please
    As stated RFU guidance is that if the ball is at the back and the opposition don't bind on to form a maul, then we shout "Use it". If they start to move forward without using it, Scrum for accidental offside.

    The opposition cannot come round and tackle the ball carrier at the back because the ball hasn't left the lineout, so the would be tackler is offside.

    I have seen different interpretations outside of RFU land.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •