Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: Help with this law ?

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    observer
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    09 Nov 12
    Posts
    121
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Help with this law ?


  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    observer
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    09 Nov 12
    Posts
    121
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    Sorry just added the images, how can we have 2 different sanctions ????

  3. #3

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    563
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    76

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    18.6 is for a player from either side playing the ball before it has gone 5 meters, sanction FK.

    18.23.B is for when the throw does not go 5 meters before touching the ground, sanction LO/scrum option.

    Has anyone ever seen a LO throw hit the ground before reaching 5 meters?

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    15,899
    Thanks (Received)
    119
    Likes (Received)
    1528

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    18.6 is for a player from either side playing the ball before it has gone 5 meters, sanction FK.

    18.23.B is for when the throw does not go 5 meters before touching the ground, sanction LO/scrum option.
    not really, as they both cover the scenario of the ball being played, and yet the sanction is different

    8.6 The ball must reach the five-metre line before it is played and a player must not prevent the ball from travelling five metres
    8.23 The ball must reach the five-metre line before it hits the ground or is played.

    This has been a murky bit of Law for a long time -- it's a missed opportunity that the 2018 book didn't clarify it

  5. #5

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,238
    Thanks (Received)
    96
    Likes (Received)
    1376

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    18.6 applies to a QTI
    18.23.b applies to a formed lineout
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    15,899
    Thanks (Received)
    119
    Likes (Received)
    1528

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    18.6 applies to a QTI
    18.23.b applies to a formed lineout
    Same offence , though, but different sanctions

  7. #7
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,155
    Thanks (Received)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    302

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    The laws that match up are :

    4. At a quick throw, the ball is thrown in:


    c. So that it reaches the five-metre line before it touches the ground or hits a player

    Sanction: Option of lineout or scrum.


    and

    23. The ball must:


    b. Reach the five metre line before it hits the ground or is played.


    Sanction: Option of lineout or scrum. If the lineout is chosen and the ball is again not thrown
    straight, a scrum is awarded to the team that originally threw in the ball.


    In these two cases the law addresses the player throwing in. Law 8.6 applies to other players, not the thrower.

  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    15,899
    Thanks (Received)
    119
    Likes (Received)
    1528

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    I don't think they quite answer this

    Red throw, and red player catches it 4m out , what do you give ?

  9. #9

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    493
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    45

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I don't think they quite answer this

    Red throw, and red player catches it 4m out , what do you give ?
    Player reaches over & catches ball 4 meters = scrum opposition .
    Player steps into channel to catch same ball = free kick opposition .

  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,271
    Thanks (Received)
    52
    Likes (Received)
    831

    Default Re: Help with this law ?

    And between the 22s in particular the outcome is potentially the same!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •