Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,192
    Thanks (Received)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    1092

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    Which is now 18.3
    3. A player who carries the ball into touch must release the ball immediately so that a quick
    throw may be taken. Sanction: Penalty.


    The gap in the Law is that there is nothing to stop a team mate of the ball carrier from preventing a QTI by briefly handling the loose ball. (Is that even an offence )

    When the QTI is prevented by physical interference with the would be thrower, I think it's easy to give a PK , even though there is no specific Law

  2. #12

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,293
    Thanks (Received)
    75
    Likes (Received)
    932

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    So what would you do if the player threw the ball over the hoardings (or in a grass-roots game, over the sideline crowd) ?
    If a QTI was on AND if the the Red player obstructed the Blue player from taking the ball out of his hands, then PK. Otherwise, play on to line out
    Last edited by Dickie E; 28-12-17 at 12:12.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #13

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,052
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    77

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    I would be prepared to PK a red player for any action that meant a QTI was not on. That would include him petulantly holding on to the ball, kicking or throwing it away, passing or handing it to someone so it was touched by another person, that would include a ball boy. (Indeed when I have AR'd at cup finals, one of the things I do as AR is make sure the ball boys do not catch the ball if it is kicked into touch as that can affect the game by meaning there is no QTI) Or passed to another player or management. There is previous with the bench getting into trouble by playing the ball in touch to stop a QTI. Obviously if there was no opposition looking for the ball, for him to roll it back towards the lot or give it to a ball boy would not be material.

  4. #14
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,793
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    224

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    If a chaser of the kicking team ran the ball down, retrieved it and then threw it to an opponent I'd have difficulty PKing him for that.

  5. #15

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,462
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    681

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    but presumably he isn't preventing a QTI?

    (Though I'm sure we can dream up a scenario where he would be...)

    didds

  6. #16

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    12,746
    Thanks (Received)
    91
    Likes (Received)
    1223

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    If a QTI was on AND if the the Red player obstructed the Blue player from taking the ball out of his hands, then PK. Otherwise, play on to line out

    Red 14 is tackled onto the ground into touch by Blue 11. Immediately, before Blue 11 can get to his feet, Red 14 hurls the ball over the hoardings.

    You would NOT penalise Red 14?


    ETA: For mine, I would like to see two things changed in the QTI Law

    1. I would remove the restriction on the ball touching being touched by other players. The only requirement would be that the same ball is used.

    This would
    Prevent players from handing the ball to a team mate to stop a QTI
    Allow players to throw the ball to a team-mate to take a QTI

    2. I would add a phrase to the effect that a ball-carrier forced into touch must immediately drop, place or release the ball and must not take any action to prevent an opponent from taking possession of the ball.

    This would
    Prevent players from throwing th ball away to stop a QTI
    Prevent players from handing the ball to a ball boy or member of the public to stop a QTI

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    If a chaser of the kicking team ran the ball down, retrieved it and then threw it to an opponent I'd have difficulty PKing him for that.
    I have no problem with a player chasing a ball into touch and touching the ball because there is always the possibility that he might not know for sure who last touched the ball (deflection off a team mate?) and therefore, whose throw it would be. However, in the case of a ball carrier being forced into touch, there is no doubt about who put the ball in touch.
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 28-12-17 at 19:12.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  7. #17
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,793
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    224

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    but presumably he isn't preventing a QTI?

    (Though I'm sure we can dream up a scenario where he would be...)

    didds
    Yes, he's preventing a QTI because he didn't carry the ball into touch. I'm proposing that the ball went into touch before he retrieved it.

  8. #18
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Swiss Rugby Union
    Grade
    Level 4
    Join Date
    14 Dec 16
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    I've seen pro players run into touch and give the ball to a ball boy in such a manner... though I can;t recall when or whether they then got penalised!

    And TBH, giving away a FK is hardly any different to a lineout, and if in featr of a lineout maul near a try line may be preferable in some circumtances.

    didds
    Don't you always get the option of a lineout for a FK awarded at a lineout? If the non-offending team prefers a lineout they just have to ask anyway.

  9. #19

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,192
    Thanks (Received)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    1092

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    Do you get the option of a lineout, for a FK awarded at a QTI ?

  10. #20
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    993
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    126

    Default Re: Preventing QTI by touching ball whilst in posession of the opposition

    As written only applies to lineout not quick throw - but surely that is just an omission due to not actually bothering with an editor.

    201
    Lineout alternative. A team awarded a penalty or a free kick at a lineout may choose a further lineout into which they throw in. This is in addition to the scrum option.
    2018
    A team awarded a penalty or free-kick at a lineout may instead choose a lineout or a scrum at the same mark.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •