Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 46 of 46

Thread: Scrum ends

      
  1. #41
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,116
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    296

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Yes, continuous binding has been the law for a long time but the 2018 authors put the requirement in a strange place.

  2. #42
    Rugby Club Member xxGoosexx's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NHRRA
    Grade
    Junior Rugby
    Join Date
    12 Feb 18
    Posts
    5
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    It was touched on during this thread and others but I don't think a consensus was reached - that is, what is ruled when the No.8 has the ball at his feet, unbinds and moves away from the scrum without picking up the ball?

    Once he unbinds, the ball is in open play (behind the locks feet) so the ball must be out of the scrum as soon as he breaks away.

    Had it happen twice last season - No.8 breaks blind without the ball then halfback takes the ball and goes open. The law says: Restricted practices at a scrum include: "
    Scrum-half attempting to make an opponent believe the ball is out of the scrum when it is not.
    "
    so it's not the halfback dummying in anyway, he's quite legit.

    - xxGoosexx

  3. #43

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,690
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1364

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by xxGoosexx View Post
    It was touched on during this thread and others but I don't think a consensus was reached - that is, what is ruled when the No.8 has the ball at his feet, unbinds and moves away from the scrum without picking up the ball?

    Once he unbinds, the ball is in open play (behind the locks feet) so the ball must be out of the scrum as soon as he breaks away.

    Had it happen twice last season - No.8 breaks blind without the ball then halfback takes the ball and goes open. The law says: Restricted practices at a scrum include: "
    Scrum-half attempting to make an opponent believe the ball is out of the scrum when it is not.
    "
    so it's not the halfback dummying in anyway, he's quite legit.

    - xxGoosexx
    He can only unbind in order to pick up the ball
    If he unbinds without picking it up, it's an offence: not remaining bound

  4. #44

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,462
    Thanks (Received)
    109
    Likes (Received)
    966
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Agreed.
    He must unbind and pick up the ball in one motion, otherwise he has released his bind early.

    Since the introduction of the ball being able to be played when its under the locks feet, I also get the No 8 playing the ball back with one hand, without releasing the bind with his other arm. This is not to pick up the ball but to bring it back for the SH. It's handling in the scrum, but I have been warning the first time as so many teams have been doing it that it must be a confusion over the change in law.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  5. #45

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,690
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1364

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Agreed.
    He must unbind and pick up the ball in one motion, otherwise he has released his bind early.

    Since the introduction of the ball being able to be played when its under the locks feet, I also get the No 8 playing the ball back with one hand, without releasing the bind with his other arm. This is not to pick up the ball but to bring it back for the SH. It's handling in the scrum, but I have been warning the first time as so many teams have been doing it that it must be a confusion over the change in law.
    How do these things spread ? Here in London last weekend I warned the 8 about doing exactly that

  6. #46

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,462
    Thanks (Received)
    109
    Likes (Received)
    966
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Well we went from This (2017):

    (b) All players: Handling in the scrum. Players must not handle the ball in the scrum or pick it
    up with their legs.
    Sanction: Penalty kick


    To This (Law Trial):

    Handling in the scrum – exception
    Law 20.9 (b)
    The number eight shall be allowed to pick the ball from the feet of the second-rows.
    Rationale: To promote continuity.


    To This (2018):

    24. Any player within the scrum may play the ball but only with their feet or lower legs and
    they must not lift the ball. Sanction: Penalty.


    So its no wonder people don't know what they can do.

    I suspect when teams had the Law Trials talk No 8's saw the middle bit above and thought they could pull it back as well as pick it up. Trying to pick it up from the locks feet is difficult becasue as soon as the No 8 stop pushing to unbind the scrum gets nudged back and he then can't reach in for the ball (becasue its going away from him), so he tries to pull it back first and then play it...or just pull it back for the SH to play it.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •