Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: Scrum ends

      
  1. #11

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,456
    Thanks (Received)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    1002

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    This raises the following:

    If the ball is under the locks feet can the #8 unbind first before he retrieves the ball?
    Yes ... not sure how he could do otherwise.

    What he can't do is unbind, then not pick the ball up.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #12

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,975
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    so I think the answer to my OP question is that the scrum is not over, but #8 is committing a PK offence by not binding properly.


    The players in the scrum bind in the following way:
    a. The props bind to the hooker.
    b. The hooker binds with both arms. This can be either over or under the arms of the
    props.
    c. The locks bind with the props immediately in front of them and with each other.
    d. All other players in the scrum bind on a lock’s body with at least one arm.
    Last edited by crossref; 21-01-18 at 22:01.

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    205
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    so I think the answer to my OP question is that the scrum is not over, but #8 is committing a PK offence by not binding properly.

    All other players in the scrum bind on a lock’s body with at least one arm Sanction:Penalty.
    I had this yesterday, or similar, 8 unbound, placed hands on ball at locks feet, then seemed to change his mind and went to rebound again. I gave PK against.

  4. #14

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    104

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    This raises the following:

    If the ball is under the locks feet can the #8 unbind first before he retrieves the ball?
    Not a problem at all, seeing as the Law clearly states he only needs to bind with ONE arm. So, he releases one arm and reaches forward to pick up the ball from the feet of the locks.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  5. #15

    Referees in England
    Nigib's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Oxfordshire
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    02 Jul 07
    Posts
    326
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    64

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by beckett50 View Post
    Not a problem at all, seeing as the Law clearly states he only needs to bind with ONE arm. So, he releases one arm and reaches forward to pick up the ball from the feet of the locks.
    Surely as soon as he picks up the ball, the scrum is over? And if he remains bound then his players in the scrum are obstructing? I would try and manage the situation by either calling the ball out or use it. I can't see how this is tactically useful, as the oppo 9 is usually waiting to go for the ball at the earliest opportunity.

  6. #16

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,206
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    119

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    We all agree that the no8 can attempt to pick the ball out of the scrum now.
    What if he has a full arm bind with one arm and picks the ball up with the other, scrum over?
    This has happened to me a few times and that's what I've called
    Ciaran Trainor

  7. #17

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    21,923
    Thanks (Received)
    86
    Likes (Received)
    1229

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    We all agree that the no8 can attempt to pick the ball out of the scrum now.
    What if he has a full arm bind with one arm and picks the ball up with the other, scrum over?
    This has happened to me a few times and that's what I've called
    Agreed. Otherwise it is handling in the scrum.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  8. #18
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,969
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    254

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    I think the law mod that allows the #8 to retrieve the ball from under the locks feet is expecting the #8 to unbind first. Staying bound with one arm and scooping up the ball has to be handling in the scrum.

  9. #19
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,063
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    146

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    If the scrum has ended it is obstruction from the players in front.

  10. #20

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,975
    Thanks (Received)
    90
    Likes (Received)
    1232

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Most of the posts on the thread are focused on the situation where the 8 picks up the ball, and remain bound

    I was more asking about the reverse .. he is not binding properly and the ball is at his feet

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •