Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: Scrum ends

      
  1. #21

    Referees/Trains Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,184
    Thanks (Received)
    88
    Likes (Received)
    823
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Most of the posts on the thread are focused on the situation where the 8 picks up the ball, and remain bound

    I was more asking about the reverse .. he is not binding properly and the ball is at his feet
    Shout "Use IT" and then have a word at the next scrum.

    Follow my blog The Rugby Ref


  2. #22

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,220
    Thanks (Received)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    1099

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Yes.

    I think the answer is that the scrum hasn't ended , but 8 is committing a PK for breaking bind , which you may or may not blow for

  3. #23
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    994
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    126

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    If the other 7 have enough grunt to keep the scrum moving forward without him, is it material that the 8 is chariot riding?
    If the scrum has stopped and the ball is available then they need to use the ball immediately.

  4. #24

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,297
    Thanks (Received)
    75
    Likes (Received)
    935

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Shout "Use IT"
    do you also then give him the 5 seconds to do so?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #25

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,088
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    102

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    do you also then give him the 5 seconds to do so?
    On the first occasion, then next time (after 'The Word") then no.

    Although if were L7 and up I would be tempted to just call the ball out in that scenario.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  6. #26

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,220
    Thanks (Received)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    1099

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    If the other 7 have enough grunt to keep the scrum moving forward without him, is it material that the 8 is chariot riding?.
    You can decide it's not material , as I did .. and then opposing scrum half comes round and takes the ball from under his feet , on the grounds that if the 8 wasn't binding properly the scrum is over .. which is what happened ...

    So was the scrum over ???

    I think not , but ..

  7. #27

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,056
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    83

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    You can decide it's not material , as I did .. and then opposing scrum half comes round and takes the ball from under his feet , on the grounds that if the 8 wasn't binding properly the scrum is over .. which is what happened ...

    So was the scrum over ???

    I think not , but ..
    So it became material and you have to decide who you will penalise - the SH for (presumably) being offside or handling in the scrum or the no8 for not being bound properly. I would need to see it to decide but I would be inclined to penalise the no8.

  8. #28

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,465
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    685

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Purely on the old fashioned "equity" concept it would seem harsh to PK the scrum half for "not understanding" something that the ref himself "doesn't understand" .

    (that's not a dig at anybody!)

    didds

  9. #29

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,220
    Thanks (Received)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    1099

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    The SH understood the issue all right !
    (we had a chat after)

    Yes, I penalised the SH

    IMO the #8 binding poorly does not end the scrum
    The scrum ends when/if the #8 picks up

    So I think the SH was committing an offence by coming in for the ball before the scrum

    Was the #8 committing a prior, material PK offence?:
    I don't think he was .. in that situation it's not material.

  10. #30

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,465
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    685

    Default Re: Scrum ends

    Fair enough CR, you were the guy there.

    So how long would you allow the #8 to maintain that scenario while the oppo #9 has to just look on at a #8 that isn't bound but the scrum isn't over?

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •