Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 126

Thread: Tmo farce

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    465
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    40

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    15,016
    Thanks (Received)
    104
    Likes (Received)
    1421

    Default Re: Tmo farce

    Well, I would have given a try.
    I was at the game and couldn't hear the TMO . What was the reasoning given?

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    22 Jan 11
    Posts
    74
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    7

    Default Re: Tmo farce

    TMO said no clear and obvious grounding by Red so first grounding by White. And then the TMO said “so scrum 5”, if I recall it correctly - when that’s also wrong, surely?

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    15,016
    Thanks (Received)
    104
    Likes (Received)
    1421

    Default Re: Tmo farce

    Perhaps he thought white got there first ?

  5. #5

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    465
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: Tmo farce

    Wales , clearly got hand to ball 1st & scored try ,,i even think the lines man george clancy was surprised by tmo decision ..its a hugh shame as nobody wants to take any thing away from england ,,both teams deserve better officiating ..

  6. #6

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    3,721
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    155

    Arrow Re: Tmo farce

    The exact words of the TMO - Glenn Newman from New Zealand - are quite astonishing. Despite clear video evidence to the contrary, he confidently tells Garces that the first grounding was from an English player, Watson.

    The ball has come off the knee of the Welsh player, but has not been clearly grounded. The first grounding is by England.
    Source
    Shrug. Did seem like Red got a hand to it first. It does seem like TMOs create more issues than they solve.
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 10-02-18 at 22:02.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    peperami's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CUDRRS
    Grade
    11
    Join Date
    02 Feb 04
    Posts
    283
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    6

    Default Re: Tmo farce

    Ok, I'm going to offer the contradictory opinion. I believe that the welsh player got to the ball first but that the ball was not on the ground at that time, its then gone forward off his hand. Grounded by Watson. The correct decision is a scrum 5 England ball due to the Welsh knock on. However if as it seems he just thinks England got there first it should have been a 22 England as Wales put the ball in goal.

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Manchester & District
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    04 Apr 12
    Posts
    57
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    15

    Default Re: Tmo farce

    Kick: An act made by intentionally hitting the ball with any part of the leg or foot, except the heel, from the toe to the knee but not including the knee

    As the ball went into the in goal from the knee of the Welsh winger wasn't that a knock on in the first place - scrum England - and made the grounding irrelevant?

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    15,016
    Thanks (Received)
    104
    Likes (Received)
    1421

    Default Re: Tmo farce

    No , it's only a knock on if it comes off hand or arm

    - - - Updated - - -

    The guardian think it wasnt about who got there first , but about downward pressure
    https://www.theguardian.com/sport/20...s-match-report

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Manchester & District
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    04 Apr 12
    Posts
    57
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    15

    Default Re: Tmo farce

    [QUOTE=crossref;341549]No , it's only a knock on if it comes off hand or arm

    Scrum half throws a pass out to stand-off which hits him on the body and goes forward. Stand-off picks up the ball and continues. What do you rule?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •