Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Regarding a Try

      
  1. #11
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    22 Jan 11
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    There is no objectively obvious/correct result when two events which have consequences due to the laws of the game occur simultaneously. In this scenario it is _both_ a try (because a ball on the ground in-goal has been pressed down on by a player of the side attacking that in-goal) _and_ it is touch/touch-in-goal (because a player who is in touch has touched the ball).

    So the makers of the laws have to decide which consequence should occur. They chose a try - and in doing so removed the need for a decision about the location of the player in this situation, which is probably wise.

  2. #12

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,589

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    That last point is a good one

  3. #13

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Good point Simon.

    What if player in touch places downward pressure on a ball in the FoP ? Which is directly analogous.

    didds



    didds
    Play on - if he is not the ball carrier, then the ball is not in touch if he plays it.

  4. #14

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,076

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    That actually surprises me but fair enough.

    So if A is standing in touch and the ball is rolling in the FoP next to him he can reach into the FoP and - say - flip it up to an oncoming supporter?

    didds

  5. #15
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 17
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    Play on - if he is not the ball carrier, then the ball is not in touch if he plays it.
    Isn't the player in possession of the ball though?

    Definitions:
    Ball-carrier: A player who is in possession of the ball.
    Possession: an individual or team in control of the ball or who are attempting to bring it under control.


    and

    18.1: The ball is in touch when:
    a) The ball or ball-carrier touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.


    I might be overthinking but isn't placing downward pressure "attempting to bring [the ball] under control," and by this logic should be in touch?

  6. #16

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    862

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    Quote Originally Posted by nylluma View Post
    Isn't the player in possession of the ball though?

    Definitions:
    Ball-carrier: A player who is in possession of the ball.
    Possession: an individual or team in control of the ball or who are attempting to bring it under control.


    and

    18.1: The ball is in touch when:
    a) The ball or ball-carrier touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.


    I might be overthinking but isn't placing downward pressure "attempting to bring [the ball] under control," and by this logic should be in touch?
    You are correct.

  7. #17
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,227

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    Didds, see nyllumas post re. "possession". Flipping it up would be 'bringing under control' putting downward pressure on a ball in goal instantly causes the ball to be grounded. So different animal.

  8. #18

    Referees in Scotland
    Jolly Roger's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh - ERRS
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    19 Feb 10
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    So would you say that a player standing in touch who knocks a ball backwards before it has reached the plane of touch was in posession and therefore linout? I hope not.

    How then is the situation any different when the player in touch “flips” the ball back to a team mate? Or in the same scenario he places a hand on the ball to steady its movement?

    I would not interpret any of these situations as the player taking the ball under control and therefor being in possession. The “juggling” Law was introduced in 2017 to clarify the situation when a player was tackled whilst juggling a ball that he had just received.

    Let us not look for issues where there are none.
    Keep smiling!

  9. #19

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,589

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    what if the ball is on the ground in the FoP, and with one foot in touch a player kicks the ball (ie with the other foot) to a teammate

  10. #20

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    862

    Default Re: Regarding a Try

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    what if the ball is on the ground in the FoP, and with one foot in touch a player kicks the ball (ie with the other foot) to a teammate
    No problem. Play on. See touch definitions - at least the 2017 version from knowledge! Not checked 2018 yet.

    Checked - in laws 18.2.c
    Last edited by Balones; 12-02-18 at 21:02.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •