Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 25 of 25

Thread: on your Mark's

      
  1. #21

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,464
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    157

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Just checked the new law book and 17.1a says
    Have at least one foot on or behind their own 22-metre line when catching the ball or when landing having caught it in the air.

  2. #22
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,395
    Thanks (Received)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    228

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    In American Football you have not completed a catch until both feet are down.

    Unfortunately someone decided to go for brevity over clarity in the last revision.

    What would you rule if the first foot landed in the field of play, but the second was in touch.
    Was the catch completed in the field of play, and hence a mark can bee awarded?
    Or did they just take the ball into touch?

  3. #23

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,914
    Thanks (Received)
    146
    Likes (Received)
    1812

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    Just checked the new law book and 17.1a says
    Have at least one foot on or behind their own 22-metre line when catching the ball or when landing having caught it in the air.
    Yes but the new Law Book doesn't contain the current trials , which supersede it

  4. #24

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,464
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    157

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Taking the law book and the law trials, it seems to me that you can call a mark catching the ball in the air as long as:

    1 the ball has reached the plane of the 22 (law trial)

    and 2 at least one foot is on or behind the 22 when you land. For me it does not matter if it is the first foot down or second foot.

  5. #25

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,914
    Thanks (Received)
    146
    Likes (Received)
    1812

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    I agree
    In the real world you won't be in a good position to huge the plane thing

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •