Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: on your Mark's

      
  1. #11
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    If you are going to call 'mark' then you can't then say the ball was taken back in coz you can't have a mark unless he's in the 22. Other than the technicality of 'first foot landing' I agree that allowing the mark for safety reasons is a sound choice unless the marker is not under any pressure.

  2. #12

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,507
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    163

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    I think the law trial requires to ball to have got to the plane of the 22 before you can claim a mark now.

  3. #13

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    344

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    I think the law trial requires to ball to have got to the plane of the 22 before you can claim a mark now.
    Exactly.

    And if the ball is on or has crossed the plane of the 22 (in the OP it was directly over - so inside the 22) and the catcher is in the air as he is allowed to be, why can't he have Mark?

  4. #14

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,685
    Thanks (Received)
    129
    Likes (Received)
    1641

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    I think the law trial requires to ball to have got to the plane of the 22 before you can claim a mark now.
    Surely the point is that a player jumping for a ball about to land near the 22m line is looking at the ball, not the line. He may land with his front foot just over the line fractionally before his back foot lands on the line.

    We are splitting hairs, so I would want a clear, early call by the referee, and forget the hairs.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #15

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,023
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1030

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    I think the law trial requires to ball to have got to the plane of the 22 before you can claim a mark now.
    That's my thoughts too. with the latest rewrites/whatever they have - like touch in some ways - they've taken something that was easy to ref/call at any level of rugby and made it something that requires line judgements, when refs may not be in the nest position to see them.

    winner.

    didds

  6. #16

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,464
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1933

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    I am not sure the trial applies to mark
    Though I think it would to carrying back

    Which would be weird

    Out in the sticks I am very unlikely to be standing on the 22m line to judge the plane , so I would go with the feet , and if he lands one foot out one foot in, I'd give the mark , as the law says

  7. #17
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    1,050
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    108
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I am not sure the trial applies to mark
    Though I think it would to carrying back

    Which would be weird

    Out in the sticks I am very unlikely to be standing on the 22m line to judge the plane , so I would go with the feet , and if he lands one foot out one foot in, I'd give the mark , as the law says
    it was raised as a discussion point in a super rugby game last season when the mark was not given because while he had his foot behind, he clearly had caught it in front of the line. Under the circumstances I am going to give it. As far as taken back in decisions, I am following the law trials as best I can.

  8. #18

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,507
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    163

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Global Law Trials - pretty clear in my opinion

    Law 18 Definition Mark
    To make a mark a player must have one or both feet on or behind that player’s 22-metre line and catch a ball that has reached the plane of the 22-metre line.

  9. #19

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,464
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1933

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    Global Law Trials - pretty clear in my opinion

    Law 18 Definition Mark
    To make a mark a player must have one or both feet on or behind that player’s 22-metre line and catch a ball that has reached the plane of the 22-metre line.
    Hmmm do we think the intention was that you can't call a mark if jumping for the ball ?

  10. #20

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,507
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    163

    Default Re: on your Mark's

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Hmmm do we think the intention was that you can't call a mark if jumping for the ball ?
    No, I don't, but I think it should

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •