Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Law 13.3 b

      
  1. #1

    Probationer Member


    Soc/Assoc
    VFVRRS
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    19 Feb 18
    Posts
    1
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Law 13.3 b

    13.3 A player on the ground without the ball is out of the game and must:
    b.
    Not play the ball.

    In the recent USA vs Chile game at Fullerton, CA USA, at 20min 18 sec in 1st half USA attacking, USA no 15 is tackled 1 metre from Chile's goal line. He places the ball back and the USA no 4 picks the ball, gets hit immediately by Chilean player entering tackle/ruck, goes to ground and loses the ball backwards 2 metres. He crawls back at speed on hands and knees as no 8 Chile comes in to contest, and flips the ball up to the USA no 13 who goes over the line for a try. Should this try be awarded?

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    236
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    44

    Default Re: Law 13.3 b

    Would need to see it, but if all within one action then he’s played the ball so ok, if as described then looks to me like he’s preventing the opposition from playing the ball, whilst he’s on the ground, so a penalty. Should have got back in his feet.

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,142
    Thanks (Received)
    93
    Likes (Received)
    1259

    Default Re: Law 13.3 b

    As described, PK to Chile for playing ball while on ground

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,089
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    152

    Default Re: Law 13.3 b

    But the referee is always right, especially if he was wrong. :-)

    So if he awarded the try then must have decided that the American player played the ball immediately.
    If he awarded the penalty, he must have decided that the ball had been lost and then played while on the ground.

    In either case his decision once made was correct and there is no appeal.
    of course, he will have been assessed and debriefed and his assessor may take another view.
    That might affect how the referee progresses, but not the outcome of the game.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    236
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    44

    Default Re: Law 13.3 b

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    But the referee is always right, especially if he was wrong. :-)
    Best rename this forum to 'It's always right' instead of 'Was it right' then

  6. #6

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    396
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    35

    Default Re: Law 13.3 b

    Quote Originally Posted by RobinT View Post
    13.3 A player on the ground without the ball is out of the game and must:
    b.
    Not play the ball.

    In the recent USA vs Chile game at Fullerton, CA USA, at 20min 18 sec in 1st half USA attacking, USA no 15 is tackled 1 metre from Chile's goal line. He places the ball back and the USA no 4 picks the ball, gets hit immediately by Chilean player entering tackle/ruck, goes to ground and loses the ball backwards 2 metres. He crawls back at speed on hands and knees as no 8 Chile comes in to contest, and flips the ball up to the USA no 13 who goes over the line for a try. Should this try be awarded?
    i have hi lighted above material offensive play by usa player
    for me , i would say minimum penalty .
    if the chile nr 8 was not near contest area , or any other chilian player was not close to contest area .
    i would let try go as not really material .

    but it is clearly very material by usa player on floor playing ball whilst the chille nr 8 is legally involved in play also , so i cant see how try could be awarded .
    Last edited by Christy; 19-02-18 at 14:02.

  7. #7

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,143
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    101

    Default Re: Law 13.3 b

    By the sound of it, illegal play by the USA. However a pro level there still seems to be an acceptance that rolling forward or crawling forward once tackled is permissible.

  8. #8

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    3,575
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    142

    Arrow Re: Law 13.3 b

    Hi Robin T,
    Welcome to the RR forum.
    Nice to have somebody from Vancouver Fraser Valley Rugby Referees society.

    This was the game at Titan Stadium, Cal State, Fullerton, right?


    35 and a half minutes in this clip, if the timestamp doesn't work.
    Wasn’t that Chilean player in from the side? (If so advantage to the Eagles?) If you then disallow the try you have to come back for a penalty to the Eagles.
    Judging by the match report, the decision wouldn't have changed the result (45-13) much.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks (Received)
    11
    Likes (Received)
    104

    Default Re: Law 13.3 b

    As I see it there were multiple infringements here.

    The referee was already playing 2 PK advantages for high tackles from Chile (#12 & #13 if I heard correctly on the ref mike).

    The USA #8 was tackled by the #15; but the #15 was did neither come through the gate nor use any arms in the tackle (another PK advantage). Yes he fell and lost the ball back, but his actions of immediately playing the ball to the #10 in no way stopped the Chile player from winning or contesting for the ball.

    Had the referee felt inclined to blow for the USA player playing the ball from the ground, then there is a case that, but for the 'tackle' by the Chile #15 a try would have been scored and so a PK and YC would have been given. Chile got off rather lightly IMHO.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    236
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    44

    Default Re: Law 13.3 b

    It's certainly less clear cut than originally described, you could argue that he played the ball in one action whilst on the ground, albeit needing two reaches to pop the ball up to his team mate, and agree, don't think he did anything to prevent the defenders contesting it, so think in terms of positive play it would be play on for me. (And yes there's at least one advantage being played there too)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •