Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

      
  1. #1
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    9+1
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    274
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    25

    Default Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    Take a look at this ruck from the Kings v Dragons game on 4th March 2018.
    (~ Apologies as I cannot test if video link works outside UK )

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/43281165

    Scroll to 1min 52 secs of the video.
    You will see a ruck where the ball at the back, about to be played by the Dragons 9.
    The ball is actually on the back of the Dragons ankle(so off the ground technically).
    Kings' no. 8 counter rucks someone out of the ruck then comes through and takes the 9 ( who has still not played the ball, as far as I can tell )
    Would you have allowed this or awarded penalty for playing the 9 ( who has not yet played the ball )
    Just looks wrong to me.
    Cheers

  2. #2
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    07 Mar 17
    Posts
    429
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    85

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    PK, playing the 9.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    830
    Thanks (Received)
    20
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    Quote Originally Posted by VM75 View Post
    PK, playing the 9.
    Law? msf
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  4. #4

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    3,583
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    143

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    The video is available outside the UK. I am inclined to think it is
    15.6 A player may join alongside but not in front of the hindmost player.
    Although as Black 8 joins the ruck, he pushes his teammate Black 5 onto the pile of players lying on the ground. He then joins in front of his teammate (Black 13) who simultaneously go off his feet, under the weight of the falling Black5. As the hindmost player at the moment of joining the ruck, shouldn’t he have bound to Black 13 and drove thru’ the middle from there?.
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 05-03-18 at 23:03.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  5. #5

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,630
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    265

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    Law?
    DANGEROUS PLAY
    A player must not tackle an opponent who is not in possession of the ball.


    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    ... Would you have allowed this or awarded penalty for playing the 9 ( who has not yet played the ball ). Just looks wrong to me.
    You're not alone, it didn't look right to Jonathan Davies etc either.
    Last edited by Taff; 05-03-18 at 23:03.

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    977
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    99
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    Bizarre to say the least, based on written laws and also the expectation that 9 is afforded some additional protection as he is not part of the ruck.

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    830
    Thanks (Received)
    20
    Likes (Received)
    147

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    DANGEROUS PLAY
    A player must not tackle an opponent who is not in possession of the ball.
    How does a ruck ever form then?

    The SH was not actually 'tackled', but rather grappled around the upper arms and pushed backwards. The contention would be that this was a continuation of the ruck, as the ball was on the ground between two players in contact on their feet.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  8. #8

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    1,752
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    79
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    DANGEROUS PLAY
    A player must not tackle an opponent who is not in possession of the ball.


    .
    Black did not tackle SH

  9. #9

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    1,752
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    79
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    There is a principle of the game that The game is played only by players who are on their feet.

    If that is the case, the ball is no longer in the ruck as All players(once in ruck) were on the ground. The ball therefore emerged. Ruck over.

    #8 creates a new ruck with red #9 over the ball. red 9 is rucked off the ball.

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    618
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    120

    Default Re: Kings v Dragaons. PLaying the 9 at a ruck ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    [TEXTAREA]DANGEROUS PLAY
    ]


    ... it didn't look right to Jonathan Davies etc either.
    Probably was OK then. Jiffy is usually wrong!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •