Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Crawling. What's the Sanction?

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    263

    Default Crawling. What's the Sanction?

    I'm having a bit of a brain fart here.

    Red attempt a tackle on Blue BC approx 5m out from Red's goal line. The BC isn't held but knocked over and part crawls, part lunges towards the goal line. The BC wasn't tackled, so didn't have to release.

    In the Argentina v Wales game the Ref disallowed the try and went back for advantage, but if there was no advantage being played, what is the sanction and what is the law reference please?

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    977
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    99
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Crawling. What's the Sanction?

    Playing the ball while on the ground and out of the game. Surely? Just like sneaking a roll or two or three in the tackle?

  3. #3
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,098
    Thanks (Received)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    293

    Default Re: Crawling. What's the Sanction?

    Law 13 Players on the ground in open play

    1. Players, who go to ground to gather the ball or who go to ground with the ball, must immediately:
    a. Get up with the ball; or
    b. Play (but not kick) the ball; or
    c. Release the ball.
    Sanction: Penalty.


    I think that covers it.

  4. #4

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,975
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    765

    Default Re: Crawling. What's the Sanction?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChuckieB View Post
    Just like sneaking a roll or two or three in the tackle?
    Like players do unpenalised you mean?

    didds

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    170

    Default Re: Crawling. What's the Sanction?

    There is also

    21.7 If a tackled player has momentum that carries them into their own in-goal area, they can make a touch down.
    21.8 A tackled player near their own goal line may reach out and ground the ball in in-goal to make a touch down, provided it is done immediately. Sanction: Penalty.
    It you crawl and then reach out, you placement was not immediate.

    I think 8 would be clearer with an "only" after the may and without the "provided".

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •