Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: player joining lineout

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,274
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    1265

    Default player joining lineout

    Blue is awarded a lineout.

    Blue set up lineout with 4 participating players, a receiver and another player in the tram tracks (I guess that is effectively 2 receivers).

    Just before the throw is taken, the receiver steps into the lineout and the tram track player moves into the receiver position.

    Is this a legal tactic?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,900
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    331

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Blue is awarded a lineout.
    Blue set up lineout with 4 participating players, a receiver and another player in the tram tracks (I guess that is effectively 2 receivers).
    Just before the throw is taken, the receiver steps into the lineout and the tram track player moves into the receiver position.
    Is this a legal tactic?
    For what it's worth, I would say yes.

    If it's a Blue LO they shouldn't have a player in the "tramlines". The opposition do but Blue don't.

    Participating players are allowed to swap places before the LO starts. And as it's a Blue LO, they set the maximum number of players.

    It's messy, but my 2p reckons it's legal. The opposition should be able to spot something's up mind, because the Blue player in the tramlines has to go somewhere legal before the LO starts.

  3. #3

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,520
    Thanks (Received)
    58
    Likes (Received)
    885

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    hMMM... SO IN FACT BLUE THROW COULD HAVE TWO RECEIVERS (FORGET THE TRAM TARCKS) AS ONG AS ONE OF THEM ENTERS THE LINE OF JUMPERS/LIFTERS BEFORE THE THROW COMES IN?

    DIDDS

  4. #4

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,900
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    331

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    hMMM... SO IN FACT BLUE THROW COULD HAVE TWO RECEIVERS (FORGET THE TRAM TARCKS) AS ONG AS ONE OF THEM ENTERS THE LINE OF JUMPERS/LIFTERS BEFORE THE THROW COMES IN?
    But what are they going to gain?

    The opposition know that at least one of the players in the "receivers" position will either have to join the LO or retreat to the 10m offside line before the LO starts ie before the ball is thrown in.

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,967
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1626

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    I imagine it's just to create confusion, uncertainty and distraction amongst the opposition, who are trying to match numbers.

    I bet that the moment Red react, with a hasty addition / withdrawal of a man to match .. that will be the moment blue throw the ball in ..
    Last edited by crossref; 24-06-18 at 11:06.

  6. #6
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,216
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    315

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    The problem is Blue now have five in the LO to the ops four. The usual practice is to start with four in then drop one to receiver as the receiver steps in. Keeps the numbers at four.

    I think it's unclear in law but would be a manage it for me.

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,274
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    1265

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post

    I think it's unclear in law but would be a manage it for me.
    when you say 'manage it' ... what exactly would you do?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,520
    Thanks (Received)
    58
    Likes (Received)
    885

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    But what are they going to gain?

    The opposition know that at least one of the players in the "receivers" position will either have to join the LO or retreat to the 10m offside line before the LO starts ie before the ball is thrown in.
    well, ditto the attackjing LO bloke standing iun the tramlines?

    What ythey don;t know whiuch none will enter which gap.

    My point ins;t that I think its a great ides, just that if the tramline player is legal etc then so would a second receiver.

    Or presumably three receivers with two of them entering a gap (thouh ISTR sdomething about entering to JUMP. But that may have been an "old" law).

    didds

  9. #9
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,216
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    315

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    Regards the Law. This was in 2017 laws, not in 2018:

    (d) When the ball is in touch , every player who approaches the line of touch is presumed to do
    so to form a lineout. Players who approach the line of touch must do so without delay.
    Players of either team must not leave the lineout once they have taken up a position in the
    lineout until the lineout has ended.
    Sanction: Free Kick on the 15-metre line


    Looks like some coach read the 2018 and caught on to the difference.

  10. #10
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,216
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    315

    Default Re: player joining lineout

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    when you say 'manage it' ... what exactly would you do?
    Before the throw:
    "Blue, the man in the tramlines has to join as a lineout player or retire to the 10m. He can switch places with your receiver from the lineout. Red, you can add a player to the lineout if he joins."

    After the fact? Do over with above.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •