Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: WR Law Quiz

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    626
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    132

    Default WR Law Quiz

    From the 2018 Law Quiz, Foul Play, multiple answer question:

    1 A player kicks the ball from the middle of the halfway line and is then obstructed on the 10 metre line. The ball lands in-goal 7 metres from the touch-in-goal line. What option(s) are available to the kicker's team?

    a Penalty kick at the place of obstruction
    b Drop-out kick
    c Scrum on the 5m line, 5m from the touchline
    d Penalty kick on the 5m line, 15m from the touchline

    I answered "a, c, d", but "a, d" is given as the correct combination.

    Does the scrum option (20.3) not apply to late charges?

  2. #2
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    ELRA
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    253
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    68

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    I would say that a scrum option exists but it would have to be from the same place as the kick, so option C would be wrong on that basis?

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,453
    Thanks (Received)
    98
    Likes (Received)
    1326

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    I think it's a or d

    But then like any PK the team can choose to turn the PK into a scrum

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    626
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    132

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    Dan - Why would it have to be from the same place as the (initial) kick? The mark for the penalty kick decides where the scrum is to be taken, no?

    crossref - so it's an option available to the kicker's team?

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,453
    Thanks (Received)
    98
    Likes (Received)
    1326

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    Dan - Why would it have to be from the same place as the (initial) kick? The mark for the penalty kick decides where the scrum is to be taken, no?

    crossref - so it's an option available to the kicker's team?
    Well sort of .. it's the option to convert a PK to the scrum.
    The place of the scrum is either of the PK locations A or D
    Not the location mentioned in C

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    626
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    132

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    I must be missing something here, too:

    5 The attacking team kicks the ball towards the goal-line. A defender with one foot on the goal line picks up the ball which was in motion within the field of play and grounds the ball in-goal. What should the referee rule?
    a 5 metre scrum, attacking team's put-in
    b 5 metre scrum, defending team's put-in
    c A 22 drop-out

    I answered a, c is given as correct. When I answer a, I get directed to two laws as clarification of where I'm going wrong:

    21.14 If a player, who is in in-goal, catches or picks up a ball that is still in the field of play, that player has taken the ball into in-goal.

    and

    12.11 Apart from at a kick-off or restart kick, if the ball is played or taken into in-goal by an attacking player and is made dead by an opponent, play is restarted with a 22-metre drop-out

    Am I misreading something or going mental? Defender takes the ball from the field of play and grounds it in-goal.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Well sort of .. it's the option to convert a PK to the scrum.
    The place of the scrum is either of the PK locations A or D
    Not the location mentioned in C
    Argh! *5*m from the touchline, I didn't see that. Thanks!

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,453
    Thanks (Received)
    98
    Likes (Received)
    1326

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    The quiz was not properly updated for changes in the 2018 Law Book, nor for the global law trials being added into Law
    Last edited by crossref; 11-07-18 at 13:07.

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,415
    Thanks (Received)
    106
    Likes (Received)
    941
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    For obstructing the kicker it is penalty where he was obstructed or penalty where it lands.

    Are you sure your not getting confused with the 10m law and a kick, which is penalty or scrum?

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #9

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    433
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    39

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    Late charging the kicker.


    The opposition chooses either at the place of the
    infringement, where the ball landed or where the
    ball was next played.
    - If the infringement takes place in the kicker’s in-
    goal, the penalty is taken five metres from the
    goal line in line with the place of infringement
    but at least 15 metres from the touchline.
    - The non-offending team may also choose to take
    the penalty where the ball lands or where it is
    next played before landing, at least 15 metres
    from the touchline.
    - If the ball lands in touch, the optional penalty is
    on the 15-metre line, in line with where it went
    into touch.
    - If the ball lands, or is next played before landing,
    within 15 metres of the touchline, the mark is on
    the 15-metre line opposite where the ball landed
    or was played.
    - If the ball lands in in-goal, in touch-in-goal, or on
    or over the dead-ball line, the optional penalty is
    five metres from the goal line, in line with the
    place where the ball crossed the goal line and at
    least 15 metres from the touchline.
    - If the ball hits a goal post or crossbar, the optional
    penalty kick is awarded where the ball lands

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    626
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    132

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    For obstructing the kicker it is penalty where he was obstructed or penalty where it lands.

    Are you sure your not getting confused with the 10m law and a kick, which is penalty or scrum?
    No, I misread c) as a "scrum at 5m/15m", rather than 5m/5m

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    The quiz was not properly updated for changes in the 2018 Law Book, nor for the global law trials being added into Law
    Oh, I thought it had been updated for the trials? That explains it. Odd that they went to the work of updating the reference to something that clearly contradicts the answer...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •