Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: WR Law Quiz

      
  1. #11
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    247
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    49

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    Thought, I know technically it is late charging the kicker, but is it the same law sanction if the kicker has been able to run 10m since the kick as per the OP, Is that not just obstruction? I mean there’s late and then there’s laaaaaaate! It’s not really a charge any more?

  2. #12

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,221
    Thanks (Received)
    95
    Likes (Received)
    1280

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    I must say when I read the question I initially thought that would be what the question was about.. the kicker runs 10m and then is obstructed, does that count as a late charge ? Or just common or garden obstruction

  3. #13

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,572
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    243

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    For obstructing the kicker it is penalty where he was obstructed or penalty where it lands.
    But I thought the obstruction had to be pretty soon after the ball was kicked - almost instantaneous.

    In this case, the kicker has run 10m before he gets obstructed. Does the PK / PK option still exist?

  4. #14
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    247
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    49

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    Probably one of those ‘you have to see it’, but 10m is a fair trek, I think it’s probably just plain old obstruction

  5. #15
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    543
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    102

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    I'm like ly to err on the side of the kicker.

    Late charge 1m after and the PK could be 40m ( or more) upfield

    Late charge 5m after and the PK could be 40m ( or more) upfield

    Late charge 9m after and the PK could be 40m ( or more) upfield

    Late charge 10m after and the PK could be 9m from the kick.

    So the more blatent offence gets the "smaller" punishment. No thanks.

  6. #16

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,221
    Thanks (Received)
    95
    Likes (Received)
    1280

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    But the last one isn't a late charge

    Anyway this is zeno paradox isn't it
    What about 11m out , or 15m or 20m

    At some point it's not a late charge but just obstruction..
    Last edited by crossref; 1 Week Ago at 08:07.

  7. #17
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    600
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    124

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    The law doesn't differentiate between charging or obstructing a player who's just kicked the ball. I would have no problem giving the penalty if it happens 10m after the kick, I don't think 'just' means a couple of seconds.

    9.25 A player must not intentionally charge or obstruct an opponent who has just kicked the ball.

  8. #18

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,221
    Thanks (Received)
    95
    Likes (Received)
    1280

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    10m is less than 2 second

  9. #19
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    600
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    124

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    From a running grubber, yes; from a standing kick, no. But it doesn't matter, because I don't think 'just' is a couple of seconds. As long as the ball is in flight and the kicker is chasing it, any obstruction is obstructing a kicker who's just played the ball.

    I'm sure there are corner cases and grey areas you could find, a catcher being lifted or a grubber bobbling and slowing as players approach, but regarding your initial question I'd definitely blow it up under 9.25.

  10. #20

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,891
    Thanks (Received)
    43
    Likes (Received)
    748

    Default Re: WR Law Quiz

    Not sure there's an easy answer to this...

    * the closer to the point of kicking, the less chance for the kicker to put teammates onside => greater sanction
    * the closer to the point of landing the less important the PK position choice => some redundancy in choice.

    the second does rather assume the kicker would be in a poisitio to chase and retrive/tackle etc - a cross field wiper kick wouldn't have this likelihood of course, but the kicker could be continuing upfield in a supporting role for any subsequent play etc

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •