Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Wind and planes of touch

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    704
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    156

    Default Wind and planes of touch

    Red kick off and the ball sails wide, over the plane of touch, before being blown back into the FoP by a sudden, unexpected rough gust of wind. Blue 11 has one foot in touch and catches it.

    The laws talk about whether the ball has reached the plane of touch. During flight or at the point of catching? Blown-back conversions are still valid, but blown-back touch/TIG is different.

    So do you reward red for his poor kick, or blue for killing a live ball?

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,698
    Thanks (Received)
    88
    Likes (Received)
    1067

    Default Re: Wind and planes of touch

    If ball was caught in FoP, Red lineout.

    So do you reward red for his poor kick,
    anyone who can kick into a wind such that the ball crosses the touchline and blows back in to land in FoP gets my vote for "play of the day"!
    Last edited by Dickie E; 06-08-18 at 07:08.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    372
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    78

    Default Re: Wind and planes of touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    If ball was caught in FoP, Red lineout.
    Agree, in all probability it’s the only thing I can be 100% about from most positions on the pitch, and I don’t get AR’s that know the laws

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •