Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 43 of 43

Thread: when is the ball in goal?

      
  1. #41
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    02 Apr 14
    Posts
    78
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: when is the ball in goal?

    [QUOTE=Ian_Cook;347817]The view from behind the dead ball line line shows clear separation between ball and goal line.

    I can confirm that the TMO DID look at it and was happy that AG got the call right.



    Well actually he did. If you listen during TMO review at 46:47 on the game clock, you hear the last part of the TMO saying "... he kicked the ball", and AG replying "he didn't, he didn't" (which is correct, because the player missed the ball). Its moot in any case, AG was already playing advantage for offside by 4 Red.
    I need to see fuller versions as none of the replays I've seen confirm any communication with the TMO for the first incident nor the TMO saying "... he kicked the ball" in the second

  2. #42

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,047
    Thanks (Received)
    91
    Likes (Received)
    1285

    Default Re: when is the ball in goal?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    it must be otherwise how would we tell at an attacking charge down on or near the goal line what the restart will be.
    As in the past, we judge by where the player is.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #43

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,197
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    110

    Default Re: when is the ball in goal?

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    As in the past, we judge by where the player is.
    OB, I think that Ian is correct in that there is now a plane of goal (and DBL) like the plane of touch where the decision about who took the ball into touch or into in goal or dead for a catcher or player with a foot or feet in touch, in goal or over the dbl is not based on the player's position but is based on whether the ball broke the plane or not. I thought there was a clarification also that this would also apply to a call of mark inside the 22 in that the ball had to reach the plane of the 22 for a mark to be valid, as long as part of the player was in the 22.

    It can be difficult for referees to decide because different logic applies to a player in the field of play catching a ball that has reached the plane of touch or reached the plane of goal or DBL as in all those cases (where the player is still in the fop) it is play on.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •