Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Line out again from penalty offence??

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England
    Pablo's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Buckinghamshire Referees Society
    Grade
    6
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Line out again from penalty offence??

    Society meeting last week had a quiz. One point made was that if eg Red committed a penalty offence in the line out itself (pulling jumper down, etc.), then Blue had the option of having their throw into a new line out at the same line of touch, (rather than having to kick the penalty out for it).

    I could not find a law reference for this! Can someone help me out?

    I have this dim recollection that maybe this was trialled as a fix for line out PKs when time is expired, but while I was on hiatus so I never reffed it. I assume it was ultimately not implemented into law as the change that allowed line outs from PKs after time expires has made it redundant. Help, please!
    If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs and blaming it on you... you must be a rugby referee!

    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity - and I'm not sure about the universe..." - Albert Einstein

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,473
    Thanks (Received)
    98
    Likes (Received)
    1328

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Law 20.4 A team awarded a penalty or free-kick at a lineout may instead choose a lineout or a scrum at the same mark.



    Law 4.7 A half ends when the ball becomes dead after time has expired unless:
    A scrum, lineout or restart kick following a try or touchdown, awarded before time expired, has not been completed and the ball has not returned to open play. This includes when the scrum, lineout or restart kick is taken incorrectly.
    The referee awards a free-kick or penalty.
    A penalty is kicked directly to touch without the ball first being tapped and without the ball touching another player.
    A try has been scored, in which case the referee allows time for the conversion to be taken.


    Note that this one applies to PK only- booting a FK directly to touch DOES end the half



    Last edited by crossref; 1 Week Ago at 21:09.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Pablo's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Buckinghamshire Referees Society
    Grade
    6
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Thanks crossref. Do you know when this was changed/added? I don’t recall it from my pre-hiatus (2011) days.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    38
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    8

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Thanks crossref. Do you know when this was changed/added? I don’t recall it from my pre-hiatus (2011) days.
    Part of 2012 Law Amendment Trials - http://www.rugbyfootballhistory.com/...nt_Trials.html

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    38
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    8

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Crossref - have you already found this site? If not, I fear we may now lose you for days...
    http://www.rugbyfootballhistory.com/laws.htm

  6. #6
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    9+1
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    274
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    25

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post
    Crossref - have you already found this site? If not, I fear we may now lose you for days...
    http://www.rugbyfootballhistory.com/laws.htm
    Love that site ! Thanks

    "The walk in front of the Headmaster's House, leading to the Barby Road is in goal"

    I think they should bring back this law in time for the World Cup 2019. I can just see the debates as to what constitutes "in front" of the House :-)

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Pablo's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Buckinghamshire Referees Society
    Grade
    6
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post
    Part of 2012 Law Amendment Trials - http://www.rugbyfootballhistory.com/...nt_Trials.html
    Thanks mcroker. Makes sense by analogy with penalty/scrum option, but I went looking for the law reference in the line out law rather than the penalty law.

  8. #8

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,017
    Thanks (Received)
    88
    Likes (Received)
    1264

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    Love that site ! Thanks

    "The walk in front of the Headmaster's House, leading to the Barby Road is in goal"

    I think they should bring back this law in time for the World Cup 2019. I can just see the debates as to what constitutes "in front" of the House :-)
    "The Island is all in goal.".

    "Three Praepostors constitute a big-side."
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    KSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    11 Apr 18
    Posts
    38
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    8

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    "The Island is all in goal.".

    "Three Praepostors constitute a big-side."
    All matches are drawn after five days, but after three if no goal has been kicked.

    I guess the refs were all a bit fitter then

  10. #10

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,017
    Thanks (Received)
    88
    Likes (Received)
    1264

    Default Re: Line out again from penalty offence??

    Quote Originally Posted by mcroker View Post
    All matches are drawn after five days, but after three if no goal has been kicked.

    I guess the refs were all a bit fitter then
    There were no refs.

    "Heads of sides, or two deputies appointed by them, are the sole arbiters of all disputes."
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •