Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    323
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    70

    Question Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    Question that came after the disallowed try for obstruction at the weekend discussed in the other thread, apparently they tried to take the conversion quickly so the ref couldn't disallow the try, apparently the ref "didn't see" the conversion, and then held up the re-kick to review the try

    I don't think this is in law, and don't recall seeing it in any TMO protocols, although I've not read them thoroughly, but is this actually a black and white thing, once the conversion is taken it's time up for the review? Players and commentators seem to think so, but surely the ref is obligated to come to the correct decision so 'racing' to review anything seems contrary to that?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,614
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    363

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Question that came after the disallowed try for obstruction at the weekend discussed in the other thread, apparently they tried to take the conversion quickly so the ref couldn't disallow the try, apparently the ref "didn't see" the conversion, and then held up the re-kick to review the try

    I don't think this is in law, and don't recall seeing it in any TMO protocols, although I've not read them thoroughly, but is this actually a black and white thing, once the conversion is taken it's time up for the review? Players and commentators seem to think so, but surely the ref is obligated to come to the correct decision so 'racing' to review anything seems contrary to that?

    TIA
    IIRC it was in the TMO protocols a few years ago until someone (Christian Lealiifano?) took a quick conversion after a very dodgy try to try to game the system and it has since been reviewed and is no longer 'a thing'

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    323
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    70

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    Someone needs to tell the players that then !

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    02 Apr 14
    Posts
    78
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    TMO Protocols 2.1

    2. Potential infringement by the team touching the ball down in opposition in-goal
    2.1 If, after a team in possession of the ball has touched the ball down in their opponents’ in-goal area (including after a try is awarded and before the conversion is struck), any of the match officials (including the TMO) have a view that there was a potential infringement, within the list of offences (see 2.3) before the ball was carried into in-goal by the team that touched the ball down, they may suggest that the referee refers the matter to the TMO for review.


  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,672
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1363

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    I think that when the refs and TMO see that someone is rushing to take a conversion, they immediately come to the view that there is a potential infringement.

    Teams need to stay calm and take the conversion in the usual tempo to avoid arousing suspicion

    It would be good practice to practice taking ALL conversions as quickly as you can , without sacrificing accuracy, so as to achieve this ... So tee should arrive instantaneously, all players should routinelt get back into own half before celebrating 10 should go straight to the mark and start the kick routine etc

  6. #6

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    528
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    68

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I think that when the refs and TMO see that someone is rushing to take a conversion, they immediately come to the view that there is a potential infringement.

    Teams need to stay calm and take the conversion in the usual tempo to avoid arousing suspicion

    It would be good practice to practice taking ALL conversions as quickly as you can , without sacrificing accuracy, so as to achieve this ... So tee should arrive instantaneously, all players should routinelt get back into own half before celebrating 10 should go straight to the mark and start the kick routine etc
    I'd add that a good practice would be for the try scorer to bring the ball to the approximate spot for the kick.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,672
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1363

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    That as well. Though in the pro game it's often a fresh ball , brought by ball boy

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,187
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    176

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    The restart kick is often a new ball.
    If the conversion is done with a new ball, it is a good reason to disallow the conversion - 8.8.a

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,672
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1363

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    The restart kick is often a new ball.
    If the conversion is done with a new ball, it is a good reason to disallow the conversion - 8.8.a
    Not in the pro game where almost every kick is done with a fresh ball, as are most of the lineouts

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,187
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    176

    Default Re: Where does it state you can't disallow a try after the conversion?

    Lineouts are allowed to use a different ball - changing ball is one of the reasons for not allowing the QTI.

    Conversions and penalties must explicitly be taken with the ball in play - unless defective.
    Now, Sir might let it go to speed the game, but if they need to chalk it off to talk to the TMO, they have cause.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •