Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Jarrod Burton's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    TRU
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jun 13
    Posts
    326
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    34

    Default QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    OK guys, a quick QTI question.

    There are heaps of places with fixed fences etc that surround and mark out the playing enclosure. If the ball leaves the playing enclosure, no QTI. But at what point does the playing enclosure end? At the bottom of the fence or the top?

    I've had two (three actually but the third bloke told me to worry about the players not where the ball was...) contrasting answers to this, one saying if it wasn't touched by a person QTI is on, the other (the better coach IMO) felt that the fence is outside the playing enclosure.

    As AR, I had a kick to touch bounce off the top of the fence and into the arms of the LO team who flicked it in (less than 5m) to a player who went on to score. Told the ref both issues, both of which they ignored.

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,383
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1679

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Seems to me if the ball hits a fence , that doesn't matter , qti is on .

  3. #3
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    760
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    145

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Seems to me if the ball hits a fence , that doesn't matter , qti is on .
    Absolutely.... play on.

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    973
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Received)
    177

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Where do the Laws say that a ball leaving the Playing Enclosure can no longer be used for a QTI?
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,377
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    283

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    I'd go more ore by what the law says than what some coach says.

  6. #6
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    760
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    145

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    As AR, I had a kick to touch bounce off the top of the fence and into the arms of the LO team who flicked it in (less than 5m) to a player who went on to score. Told the ref both issues, both of which they ignored.[/QUOTE]

    The only relevant issue seems to be that the QTI didn't travel 5m.
    Maybe you were talking too much and the ref lost focus by the time you got to the relevant information!
    No offence intended... but I find that 'less is more' while acting as a TJ or AR and while interacting with assistants as a referee!

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Jarrod Burton's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    TRU
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jun 13
    Posts
    326
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    34

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Decorily - as a ref I understand the need for concise language. My report was "not 5, no Quick" to which I got the response "both fine". Given I was 3-5 m from the ball and the ref was 25m+ away, what else do you recommend that I do? Keep in mind that this ref is well known for ignoring AR's.

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    Jarrod Burton's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    TRU
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jun 13
    Posts
    326
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    34

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    chbg - Surely a ball leaving the playing enclosure is no longer able to be used for a QTI. If a player boots it into the bush, can another leave the FoP, duck under the rope, run over pick it up and then come back into the enclosure to throw a Quick Throw In (assuming the forwards are too slow to get there in time to form the LO)? Yet if it brushes another player within the enclosure it cannot be used for a QTI?
    Last edited by Jarrod Burton; 30-09-18 at 05:09. Reason: missed quote

  9. #9

    Referees in New Zealand


    Soc/Assoc
    Bay of Plenty
    Grade
    Secondary School
    Join Date
    05 May 11
    Posts
    1,628
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    221

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Jarrod Burton View Post
    chbg - Surely a ball leaving the playing enclosure is no longer able to be used for a QTI. If a player boots it into the bush, can another leave the FoP, duck under the rope, run over pick it up and then come back into the enclosure to throw a Quick Throw In (assuming the forwards are too slow to get there in time to form the LO)? Yet if it brushes another player within the enclosure it cannot be used for a QTI?
    I don't believe there is any law which indicates if the ball leaves the enclosure it can not be used for a QTI. In fact I am fairly certain there is no such law.
    "There is far too much talk about good ball and bad ball. In my opinion, good ball is when you have possession and bad ball is when the opposition have it." - Dick Jeeps

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,377
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    283

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Jarrod Burton View Post
    chbg - Surely a ball leaving the playing enclosure is no longer able to be used for a QTI.
    Please support with law!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •