Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

      
  1. #11

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,326
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1292

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    5. A quick throw is disallowed and a lineout is awarded to the same team if:
    b. The ball had been touched after it went into touch by anyone other than the player throwing in or the player who carried the ball into touch


    Law 18. Nothing about playing enclosures, fences, hoardings or dogs
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #12

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,436
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1689

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Jarrod Burton View Post
    chbg - Surely a ball leaving the playing enclosure is no longer able to be used for a QTI. If a player boots it into the bush, can another leave the FoP, duck under the rope, run over pick it up and then come back into the enclosure to throw a Quick Throw In (assuming the forwards are too slow to get there in time to form the LO)? Yet if it brushes another player within the enclosure it cannot be used for a QTI?
    In that scenario i do agree you wouldn't allow a QTI but it's more to do with how long it took .

    But you are correct, if a player has had to dig around sat the bottom of a bramble covered ditch to retrieve a lost ball, it's not going to be appropriate when he finally returns with the ball, to do a qti

    But i think that's very different from the ball hitting a fence and bouncing back

  3. #13
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    767
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    149

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Jarrod Burton View Post
    Decorily - as a ref I understand the need for concise language. My report was "not 5, no Quick" to which I got the response "both fine". Given I was 3-5 m from the ball and the ref was 25m+ away, what else do you recommend that I do? Keep in mind that this ref is well known for ignoring AR's.
    Fair enough Jarrod ... well I guess there is no more you can do in that case. It is the referees decision at the end of the day and certainly some referees can be difficult to work with!

  4. #14

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    437
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    103

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    In that scenario i do agree you wouldn't allow a QTI but it's more to do with how long it took .

    But you are correct, if a player has had to dig around sat the bottom of a bramble covered ditch to retrieve a lost ball, it's not going to be appropriate when he finally returns with the ball, to do a qti

    But i think that's very different from the ball hitting a fence and bouncing back
    Although this might seem counterintuitive, as far as I am aware there is no time restriction on a QTI. As long as all other criteria are met and the lineout had not formed, a QTI remains on no matter how long has expired since the ball went into touch.

  5. #15

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,436
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1689

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    The Law really should say that a QTI has to be taken without undue delay , or something similar , so that the referee has some license to use common sense judgement on this .
    Meanwhile I think we have to use some common sense judgement regardless ... ?

    I would t let a player emerge from a thicket and lob the ball into the FoP for a QTI

  6. #16

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,846
    Thanks (Received)
    153
    Likes (Received)
    1251
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    On AR's course we were always told that if the ball goes out of sight (behind a hoarding or a hedge) then the QT is not allowed as you cannot say for certain that it's the same ball or that it wasn't touched.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  7. #17

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,436
    Thanks (Received)
    136
    Likes (Received)
    1689

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Mind you, if a player was allowed to run out of sight and then re-emerge unexpectedly, in a different place, and take a QTI ... That would be quite a lot of fun :-)

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,326
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1292

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Mind you, if a player was allowed to run out of sight and then re-emerge unexpectedly, in a different place, and take a QTI ... That would be quite a lot of fun :-)
    what if the thicket was behind the DBL and he re-appeared on the other side of the field. Allow QTI?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #19

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,594
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    904

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Jarrod Burton View Post
    Decorily - as a ref I understand the need for concise language. My report was "not 5, no Quick" to which I got the response "both fine". Given I was 3-5 m from the ball and the ref was 25m+ away, what else do you recommend that I do? Keep in mind that this ref is well known for ignoring AR's.
    not ever AR for said ref again is about all you can do.

    didds

  10. #20

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,594
    Thanks (Received)
    60
    Likes (Received)
    904

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    The Law really should say that a QTI has to be taken without undue delay
    but has a player that has sperinted 30m to collect the ball and sprinted 30m back to then take a Q"TI had an "undiue delay" ? etc.

    As opposed to trotting over to pick the ball up laying a foot outside touch having gently rolled there, looked once, twice, stooped to put the ball down, then stopped in mid stoop and stood up again , looked again and THEN made the QTI?

    its all semantics I appreciate.

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •