Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

      
  1. #21

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Undue delay is used a few times in the Laws
    It just give the ref a tool in his tool box

  2. #22

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    525
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    If the ball hits the railing , promotional board , or a flying bird , or another player the ball is in touch .
    Most refs i have AR for , we usually cover quick throw ins .
    If a quick throw is taken & if the ref decides to play on , we are advised to lower our flags .
    And its the ref mistake .
    Same as if i as the AR is happy with throw , we are advised to lower flag & the ref will continue accordingly .

    Below is pasted from law book

    • TOUCH OR TOUCH-IN-GOAL

    • The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:
      • The ball or ball-carrier touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.

  3. #23
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,817
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    450

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Christy View Post
    • The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:
      • The ball or ball-carrier touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.

    THe debate is not about whether the ball is in touch or not. In fact that is clearly not the question!. If you are considering a QTI the ball mut be in touch otherwise it is just play on.

  4. #24
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,817
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    450

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    Although this might seem counterintuitive, as far as I am aware there is no time restriction on a QTI. As long as all other criteria are met and the lineout had not formed, a QTI remains on no matter how long has expired since the ball went into touch.
    Agreed. "Quick" = "before a line-out is formed." That is "quicker than the teams can form one.

    With the caveat that you can't "time waste".

  5. #25

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    .

    With the caveat that you can't "time waste".
    So there is some kind of time limit
    Agreed

  6. #26

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    525
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    51

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    THe debate is not about whether the ball is in touch or not. In fact that is clearly not the question!. If you are considering a QTI the ball mut be in touch otherwise it is just play on.
    hi mark . i have re posted # 1 below .
    i read the question { or at least a big part of the question }
    being if the ball hits a fence , can a quick throw be taken .
    the laws say no it can not ..
    regardless of where it lands ..

    There are heaps of places with fixed fences etc that surround and mark out the playing enclosure. If the ball leaves the playing enclosure, no QTI. But at what point does the playing enclosure end? At the bottom of the fence or the top?

    I've had two (three actually but the third bloke told me to worry about the players not where the ball was...) contrasting answers to this, one saying if it wasn't touched by a person QTI is on, the other (the better coach IMO) felt that the fence is outside the playing enclosure.

    As AR, I had a kick to touch bounce off the top of the fence and into the arms of the LO team who flicked it in (less than 5m) to a player who went on to score. Told the ref both issues, both of which they ignored.

  7. #27

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Christy there is no Law that says that when a ball hits the fence no Qti can be taken

  8. #28

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,668
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    1438

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    Quote Originally Posted by Christy View Post
    If a quick throw is taken & if the ref decides to play on , we are advised to lower our flags .
    And its the ref mistake .
    Christy, if you ever AR for me and you determine that the QTI is not on (wrong ball used, touched by a spectator, taken from wrong place, doesn't go 5, etc) please keep your flag up. I'll back your judgement 100%.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #29

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,537
    Thanks (Received)
    63
    Likes (Received)
    836

    Default Re: QTI - What is included in the Playing Enclosure

    The right answer ^^^
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •