Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40

Thread: Eddie, no !

      
  1. #21

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,892
    Thanks (Received)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    327

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    But he was not held up he was carried over the dbl.
    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    ...or was he held up first, and carried over the DBL after
    Refs call.

    Personally, I would have said he was taken over the DBL so 22m DO, but I wouldn't argue with somebody who decided it was "held up" and gave an attacking 5m scrum.
    Last edited by Taff; 31-10-18 at 22:10.

  2. #22

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,544
    Thanks (Received)
    126
    Likes (Received)
    1601

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    Refs call.

    Personally, I would have said he was taken over the DBL so 22m DO, but I wouldn't argue with somebody who decided it was "held up" and gave an attacking 5m scrum.
    (mischievously) can you give an actual Law Reference for the 22m DO decision ?
    Last edited by crossref; 31-10-18 at 23:10.

  3. #23
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,307
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    196

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    Were this 2018 I would quote 12:11

    Apart from at a kick-off or restart kick, if the ball is played or taken into in-goal by an attacking player and is made dead by an opponent, play is restarted with a 22-metre drop-out.
    combined with 18:1

    The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:

    The ball or ball-carrier touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.
    Now I am not sure when the ball is in touch if the ball carrier is not touching the ground, but the ball carrier carrier is.

  4. #24

    Promises to Referee in France
    L'irlandais's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CT Alsace-Lorraine
    Grade
    EdR + LCA
    Join Date
    11 May 10
    Posts
    4,018
    Thanks (Received)
    35
    Likes (Received)
    190

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    I would go with 18.1. Ball carrier taken over the dbl, not instantaneously, but certainly without delay.
    Last edited by L'irlandais; 01-11-18 at 09:11.
    "We demand strict proof for opinions we dislike, but are satisfied with mere hints for what we’re inclined to accept."
    John Henry Newman

  5. #25
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,169
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Received)
    243

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    ...or was he held up first, and carried over the DBL after
    Did the ref blow for held up before he was carried over the DBL?

  6. #26

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,544
    Thanks (Received)
    126
    Likes (Received)
    1601

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    Did the ref blow for held up before he was carried over the DBL?
    He blew after, of course, the question is whether he should have blown before.

    (For me, I am quite happy with a 22m drop out, that's what I would have given, but I can see the argument for held up. We are often taught to blow quite promptly for that to avoid prolonged wrestling g and people piling in)

  7. #27

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,443
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Received)
    866

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    So an attacker that gets in goal but through poor technique and/or tactical choices may get a second bite of the cherry to score - or his team does anyway. (WRT the Carling scenario)

    I'd never considered that before.

  8. #28

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,544
    Thanks (Received)
    126
    Likes (Received)
    1601

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    Yes, held up generally is rather generous to the attackers. But that is the way it is

  9. #29

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,443
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Received)
    866

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    well I can see a maul driven in goal but not grounded (albeit not a maul once in goal etc of course) at least equates to what would happen on the half way line ie scrum to team going forward. And the carling scenario wasn;t of coiurse a mul, or constituted what could have bgeen a maul outside of the in goal etc.

    If Carling had been caught on the half way line and carried into touch would anybody be debating whether it should be a scrum to quins for unsuccessful <anything> or a lineout to the oppo?

    didds

  10. #30

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,365
    Thanks (Received)
    101
    Likes (Received)
    1466

    Default Re: Eddie, no !

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Yes, held up generally is rather generous to the attackers. But that is the way it is
    2017
    22.7 (a) When an attacking player sends or carries the ball into the opponents' in-goal and it becomes dead there, either because a defender grounded it or because it went into touch-in-goal or on or over the dead ball line, a drop out is awarded.

    2018
    12.11 Apart from at a kick-off or restart kick, if the ball is played or taken into in-goal by an attacking player and is made dead by an opponent, play is restarted with a 22-metre drop-out.


    IMHO "held up" only applies if the referee decides no further productive play is probable. Carling might have managed to overbalance the defender or wriggle free before being carried out.

    Equity.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •